A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Screen Shot 2016-11-10 at 10.35.40 PM.png

“To the people who look up at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
“To the stars who listen – and the dreams that are answered.” 

Well, I hope the stars are listening now, because I’m praying for a positive outcome! This book gave me so many feels! Just when I was rooting for Feyre and Tamlin to get their happy ending at the end of ACOTAR, things (including my feelings on that subject) quickly change early on in ACOMAF. Let me just say, that if you ship Tamlin and Feyre, go into this book with an open mind, regardless of what you’ve heard. It will be worth it. At least it was for me.


What I really loved about this book is the depth of emotions and layers that were built into each and every character. We learned so much about the history of many of the characters, especially Rhys, which led the reader to understand the choices they’d made and the front they put on to hide their true selves. There are reasons behind every action, and uncovering those reasons made everything feel more real and emotional.

I will say, that I do take issue with some of SJM’s writing style. If I had a dollar for every time she used the word “loosed” between the two books, I’d be a very rich lady. I fault both the author and the editor on that one. There are other adjectives that can be used to describe letting out a breath!!! It sort of become nails on a chalkboard for me every time I read it. Anyway, I digress. I still loved the story, and the writing didn’t bother me aside from that.

I know that not everyone will love this book. In fact, I’m pretty certain that some people will hate it. The story and characters changed direction completely from the first book, and the characters you believed to be good or bad will likely not be the same at the end of ACOMAF, and I can see why that would upset some readers. Personally, I loved that aspect of it. I think most people can relate to meeting a person and believing they were one thing, only to get hurt down the road after finding out that they aren’t always the person you thought you were. I know I have.

Another thing I loved about this book is that Feyre is written to be a strong, self sufficient character. She doesn’t want to rely on anyone to fight her battles for her, and wants to help in any way she can. She learns to fight, to harness her powers, and does everything she can to help, rather than hide away and be the damsel in distress. I totally appreciate that.

Overall, I loved the book. I desperately want to visit the Night Court so I can see what it looks like. There were some beautiful quotes and dialogues throughout the book, and I loved so many of them! I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

I’ll be over here, impatiently waiting, trying to cure my book hangover.

**You can purchase the notebook and mug in my picture from EvieBookish on RedBubble here!**

One thought on “A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: 2016 Wrap Up and 2017 Goals! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

