A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Screen Shot 2016-11-10 at 10.30.21 PM.png

Oh my goshhhhhh you guys, I can’t believe I waited so long to read this. I kept seeing it pop up on everyone’s reviews, and I always thought I’d get to it eventually. I decided I wanted to see what all the hype was about and I’m sooooo glad I did!!


What a roller coaster of emotions! A Court of Thorns and Roses follows Feyre, a human girl, who lives in a world where Faries and Humans are separated by a magic wall. The humans fear the Faries, who are said to be merciless and evil. Feyre gets swept up in their world on accident, and is forced to go live in the Farie world of Prythian, which her captor Tamlin. Eventually, they start to develop feelings for each other.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a Beauty and the Beast re-telling, and you can definitely see the translated themes in the best way! Maas did a great job re-telling the story but also keeping it her own book and then deviating at the end.

I really enjoyed the story and all of the characters. I was dying to learn more about Amarantha and what her deal was, – why was she so evil? Where did she come from? How did she have so much power? All of those questions get answered in time.

Basically, if you haven’t read the book, do it!!! I’d give it 12 stars if I could! It was beautifully written, and it desperately made me want to see the things Fayre was seeing for myself. Pool of starlight? Yes, please!

The last thing I’ll say, is that I felt like a genius when I figured out the riddle from Feyre’s trial two seconds after reading it for the first time! MAN, I felt accomplished!

I can’t wait to see what happened in A Court of Mist and Fury! I’m rooting for Fayre and Tamlin to live happily ever after. That’s not too much to ask is it?! IS IT?!?!?

Leave a Reply

