The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-6-49-40-pm

The Butterfly Garden has been raved about by so many of my friends, so I was really excited to read it! I can see why this book would be for some people, as it was well written, but it wasn’t for me. The book tells the story of a woman who was kidnapped and held captive with a number of other women by a man they call the Gardner.

The Gardner is obsessed with their beauty and calls them his Butterflies. In the Garden, they are raped and used until they get too old and are then discarded.
The premise of the book sounded great, and it was positioned as a thriller. It felt really slow moving to me, which not much tension or build up. You know immediately who the good guys and bad guys are, and there were no surprises. The end of the book picked up as we learn how Maya came to end up talking to the FBI, but everything prior to that was too slow moving for me to be on the edge of my seat wanting to know what happens next.

Overall, this was an enjoyable book, I think I just wasn’t the right reader for it.

Leave a Reply

