The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

fullsizerender-2

The Woman in Cabin 10 follows Laura “Lo” Blacklock as she boards a luxury cruise, on which she’s supposed to write about for her job as a travel reporter. The ship only has 10 rooms, so at any time there are only 20 passengers at the most. She awakes in a panic one night after hearing a loud splash coming from next door. She goes out to her veranda to investigate and sees blood on the glass door that separates her veranda from the cabin next door (cabin 10). After reporting the incident, she’s told that cabin 10 has always been vacant. The book follows Lo as she attempts to uncover what really happened in Cabin 10. 

I’d read a number of mixed reviews on The Woman in Cabin 10, so I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about it, but honestly, I loved it!

I really enjoyed the twists and turns in the book and I jumped all over the place when trying to uncover “whodunnit”. The last 50 or so pages of the book left me feeling like I couldn’t read fast enough! I was dying to find out how it would end, and I loved the epilogue that ended the book.

A number of people have mentioned that Lo felt whiny and annoying, but the only time I felt that way was before she even got on the ship and had a fight with her boyfriend Jonah. She became angry with him because he turned down a job in New York and did so “for their relationship” and she freaked out unnecessarily. Otherwise, I felt like I would have reacted similarly – if I was convinced that I saw a murder but felt like no one would believe me and thought that I was stuck on a boat in the middle of the ocean with a killer, I’d be paranoid and freaked out, too.

There was one part of the book that I feel like was unfinished and I can’t say what it was without spoiling things! That said, it wasn’t enough to detract from the story or make me reduce my rating.

Overall, an enjoyable read that kept me hooked!

Leave a Reply

