Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Screen Shot 2016-11-12 at 3.28.36 PM.png

I finally got around to reading this! It’s been sitting on my shelf forever! I’m sad it took me so long to read it, because I loved it!


Before I Go to Sleep follows a woman named Christine, who wakes up every morning without that majority of her adult memories. She doesn’t remember that she’s married, and every morning when she wakes up, her husband has to explain who he is and why she can’t remember him.

I loved the plot of this book! I hadn’t read anything with a similar plot before, and thinking about living life that way made me feel sort of claustrophobic. I can’t imagine losing all of my memories for a 20 year period, and having to trust everyone around me to fill me in.

Shortly after the book begins, we start to learn that Christine’s husband Ben isn’t telling her the truth about everything. Why is he lying? Is he doing it for her own good? What is he hiding? Christine asks herself all of these questions, and by the end of the book, she has her answers.

Without spoiling anything, I thought I had this book all figured out and then BAM! a twist I didn’t see coming! Maybe I was the only one, but it definitely wasn’t what I expected to happen, and I loved it!

I really enjoyed this book. The only thing keeping it from being a five star review for me is the fact that I sometimes had a hard time keeping track of which parts of the book were Christine’s journal entries and which parts were actually happening. The writing was the same in both formats, which made it a little tricky when they weren’t clearly outlined. That said, I still loved the book and can’t believe it was a debut novel from this author.

2 thoughts on “Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Leave a Reply

