Firstlife (Everlife #1) by Gena Showalter

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-3-17-43-pm

Let me just say – I loved this book! Firstlife is set in a world where “real” life begins after you die. Two warring realms exits, Myriad and Troika, and each are governed by a different set of rules and values. In your “firstlife” you must pick a side. This book followed Tenley “Ten” Lockwood, who refused to do just that. Understanding that committing eternity to one realm is a serious decision, she wants to wait until she is confident in her choice. Her parents send her to an asylum where she’s beaten, tortured, and starved, in hopes that the torture will force her to choose a side – their side. Can I just say, worst parents ever??


I thought the concept of this book was really unique. I’ve never read anything like it, and I loved that. There was a lot of action throughout the book, which I liked. It was really fast paced, and I ended up (accidentally) staying up until 3am to finish it. There were a few moments that I didn’t love the writing – too many random short sentences or cheesy cliches “I can’t even” and “I don’t want to adult”…that said, this book falls within the YA genre, and those sort of statements are probably accurate among the books target audience. That said, it didn’t take away from the book for me.

In reading other reviews, some people mentioned that they didn’t understand why Ten wouldn’t choose a side. I didn’t feel that way at all. I mean, that’s a huge decision! Knowing that each realm operates differently and has different rules and principles, that’s a stressful choice. THEN she finds out that she’s more important to the way between the realms than she ever thought possible, she finds out that picking a side means causing the other side serious damage. Throughout reading the book, couldn’t even pick a side! I flip flopped throughout the book, weighing the pros and cons of each, and it wasn’t until much later in the book did I make a mental choice for Ten (and myself).

That said, though sad, I loved the ending of the book and I can’t wait for the sequels!

Leave a Reply

