Wrong Number by Carys Jones

Screen Shot 2016-11-19 at 10.22.33 PM.png

Wrong Number follows Amanda and her husband Will as they live a seemingly idyllic life. Computer-hacker-turned-website-designer Amanda receives a strange phone call one day, asking for a man who doesn’t live at her house. As the caller becomes more and more instant that she’s wrong, and that someone by that name does live in her house, she starts to get creeped out. After telling her husband about the call, he immediately shuts down and gets quiet. The next morning, she wakes up and he’s gone. No note, no text, nothing.

The story continues with Amanda falling back into the world of hacking as she attempts to locate her husband. Was he kidnapped? Was he in an accident on the way to work? Did he leave voluntarily? And if so, why?? Amanda ends up filing a police report, and sure enough, Amanda’s ex-boyfriend Shane agrees to help out with the case. As days go by, Amanda and Shane spend a lot of time together looking for Will, and you can tell there’s a lot of history and raw emotion there. I can see the appeal of both Will and Shane, but I know who I liked best!!

There was a lot I liked about this book. I loved the story line – I love a good domestic thriller! I really enjoyed the parts about Amanda using the “darknet” to hack and attempt to locate Will – I’m not sure why, but it was super intriguing (and also a little scary to know that it’s possible to do that!) I felt like I was really engaged for most of the book. That said, there were a few points where I felt like the story went on a little too long. I also really loved Amanda. Sometimes thrillers position the female lead as this week character who can’t take control of the situation, and Amanda was the total opposite. I loved that she didn’t sit back and wait for the police to figure things out. She immediately took matters into her own hands and conducted her own investigation and then acted on it. I loved that!

Though there were a lot of things I loved about the book, there were also a few things I didn’t love so much. First, it could have been shortened up in some places in order to move the plot along more quickly. There were also a few grammatical changes that could have been made – some sentences didn’t flow very well, and there were one or two that didn’t make sense at all. In addition to the grammatical things, there were also a few punctuation errors (for example, one sentence started with “It’s okay,.” and had both a comma and a period – a good editor would definitely be able to finetune those things. I also felt like there weren’t a whole lot of twists and turns in the book. Everything was fairly obvious for the reader to figure out from the beginning, and I wish that there were a few we would have figured out later in the story. It’s definitely not a dark and disturbed book like many recent thrillers have been, and that was a nice change of pace.

That said, I really enjoyed the book. It does leave off on a cliffhanger, which I didn’t know going into it, so I’ll definitely be reading the sequel when it comes out in May of 2017! Wrong Number comes out on January 1, 2017, so be sure to mark the date and check it out!

Thank you to Netgalley, Aria, and Carys Jones for an opportunity to review the book prior to release in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

