Stalked (The Profiler #4) by Elizabeth Heiter

Screen Shot 2016-11-27 at 11.57.23 PM.png

“If you’re reading this, I’m already dead”

When the above note is found in a missing girl’s bedroom, even more questions are asked by her family and the police. Now that it seems like 17 year old Haley Cook knew something bad would happen to her, and possibly who was after her, the local police call in Evelyn Baine, a profiler for the FBI.

Stalked is the fourth installment in The Profiler series, and I have to be honest, I hadn’t read the other three. They’ve been on my list for a while, and I just hadn’t gotten to them yet. I’d heard from another reviewer that they also read it without having read the preceding books and had no issues following the story, so I decided to give it a shot.

The book follows two paths, one where Evelyn and her partner on the case Sophia as they work the disappearance of Haley. Everyone in her life from her father, to her stepfather, to her boyfriend seems to be suspicious and they all seem like they are hiding things. It makes it a really intense and engaging read!

The second path follows Evelyn’s boyfriend Kyle, who also works for the FBI as he works a human trafficking case. Throughout the book they teeter on whether or not the cases are related. You’ll have to wait until the end to find out!

I have to say, I enjoyed this book immensely! Once I got sucked in, I really couldn’t put it down! So many things kept happening, but not to the point where it was overwhelming or hard to follow. It was definitely a thriller, that’s for sure! I liked the main characters a lot, and felt right there with them as they uncovered clues and dead ends. I really enjoyed the scenes where the detectives were throwing theories about what happened off of each other, because I feel like that’s probably what actually happens on cases in real life.

The human trafficking portion of the book felt well researched and not totally unrealistic, which I also really enjoyed. There were a lot of moments throughout the book that totally caught me off guard and even a few that gave me goosebumps! I felt like I couldn’t read fast enough to find out what happened next.

Needless to say, Elizabeth Heiter has new fan in me, and I can’t wait to go back and read the rest of the her series!

Stalked will be released on December 27th, 2016, so mark your calendars! A huge thank you to Netgalley, Harlequin, and Elizabeth Heiter for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

5 thoughts on “Stalked (The Profiler #4) by Elizabeth Heiter

Leave a Reply

