Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

screen-shot-2016-12-04-at-7-46-02-pm

Attachments was the first book that I’ve read by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve heard such great things about it, and I’m a sucker for books told through texts/emails/IM’s, and this one was told partly through e-mails. I went into the book with really high expectations because of all of the hype surrounding the author, and couldn’t help feeling a little let down. I did like the book, I just didn’t love it.

As previously mentioned, Attachments is told partly though emails between two women, Jennifer and Beth. Lincoln is the third player in the book – he’s the IT guy hired to read the emails caught in the company filter, and give citations to the people breaking rules. Beth and Jennifer constantly get caught up in the filter, but the more Lincoln reads their emails, the more he likes them as people and gets to the point where he won’t cite them anymore.

The book alternates between the emails and Lincoln, typically his reactions to the emails and his thoughts about Beth. He starts to develop a little crush on her, even though he knows from reading her emails that she has a serious boyfriend.

I don’t have a ton to say that won’t give away everything about the book since not a lot happened. Lincoln gets a crush on Beth and starts trying to find her in the office so he knows what she looks like. Beth sees Lincoln, not knowing who he is, but thinks he’s very attractive and proceeds to email Jennifer regularly about him, and sometimes drives behind him and follows him to see where he goes.

Basically Lincoln and Beth both have unhealthy behaviors around the other one, which I found a little creepy. I GET it, it’s supposed to be cute, but I just felt very “meh” about it. I feel like after writing all of that, you’d think I didn’t like the book, which wasn’t the case. I did like it. It was cute, it was light, and it didn’t require a lot of thinking. I enjoyed the friendship between Beth and Jennifer. Having worked in an office for the last 10 years (and counting) of my life, I get having friends like that (a best friend at work, if you will) that you chat with throughout the day, so I really loved that part of the story. I liked Lincoln as a character, but I do feel like the ending of the book felt a little thrown together. I felt like it was 300 pages of build up, and 10 pages of resolution.

Anyway, the book had a happy ending, as we all knew it would. I feel like I’d give the book 3.5 stars on Goodreads if half stars were an option. I’m having a hard time pinpointing exactly what felt missing for me, but it felt lacking. Since I can point out exactly why, I rounded up and gave it 4 stars.

2 thoughts on “Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

