Between You and Me by Lisa Hall

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-10-43-08-pm

So I feel like this is going to be a pretty quick review, mostly because I can’t say a whole lot without spoiling it! Between You and Me follows Charlie and Sal throughout their marriage, which is clearly abusive from the beginning. Charlie is showing early on being very controlling with Sal, both physically and emotionally, and there were parts that seemed hard to read because of how much my heart hurt for people who actually live through domestic abuse. That said, I really enjoyed the story, even though it was so dark. I was definitely engaged in understanding how everything would play out, and I really loved the ending. I read the book in two sittings.

I will say that this book was super predictable for me. The twist was so obvious to me and it only took me the prologue and maybe 2 paragraphs into the first chapter to figure it out. In fact, I updated my Goodreads status at 7% claiming I thought I’d figured it out, and I was right. I was hoping it wouldn’t play out in the direction I thought it would, mostly so I’d still have a surprise coming! Having read the book with the twist in mind, there was no shock for me at the end like there were for other reviewers. That said, I did like the book and enjoyed the story a lot.

I’d for sure recommend this book for anyone who is okay with reading something on the darker side. While the depiction of the abuse wasn’t overtly graphic, it’s still there and it’s a main story line, so it recurs more than once.

I know this was a short review, but I can’t say too much more without ruining it! I’d love to talk to you about it if you’ve read it, so let me know if it’s on your list or if you’ve read it before!

3 thoughts on “Between You and Me by Lisa Hall

  1. It’s funny because it’s the best twist I read this year… I never could’ve guessed it and believe me, I was considering everything 😄 I loved this because it managed to surprise me, but it’s always curious to know how for some people it’s different. For example, everyone was surprised by A mother’s confession and I guessed that one in about 20% haha

    Like

    • It is really funny! I want to tell you how I guessed it but I don’t want to put it in the comments in case I spoil it for someone else! Ha! I need to find somewhere else to message you about it!

      I haven’t read A Mother’s Confession! I’ll have to look it up!

      Like

      • Message me on twitter 😄 @themisstery91 I’m so curious! I mean after finishing I saw some clues but the first time..no idea haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

