WWW Wednesday!

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words. All you have to do is answer the following questions:

  • What have you recently finished reading?
  • What are you currently reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Recently Finished

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-10-43-08-pm
Between You and Me by Lisa Hall and Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. I enjoyed both, but wasn’t in love with either one. I think I would have liked Between You and Me a lot more if I hadn’t figured out the twist to early on! That said, it was a great (and very dark) domestic thriller, and I’m a sucker
for those. You can read my full review for each book on my blog!

 

screen-shot-2016-12-04-at-7-46-02-pmAttachments was light and cute, and I’m a huge fan of espitolary novels (for those of you who are unfamiliar – they are books told through emails/IMs/texts/other forms of documents) so I enjoyed that a lot of the book was told through email. That said, I didn’t love that it was 95% build up and only 5% resolution. I would have liked for there to have been more time spent on the resolution of the book!

Currently Reading

I’m currently reading Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and Flawed by Cecilia Ahern.

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-10-59-45-amSix of Crows is a super hyped up book that follows six criminals as they come together to complete a deadly heist. I’m a little more than three quarters of the way through, and I’m having a really hard time getting into it. I feel like I’m about to be shunned from the book community because everyone loves it so much, but for some reason, I’m having a really hard time getting engaged with the book and connecting to the characters. I did talk to someone who said they didn’t get into it until about 90% through, and then they loved the sequel, so hopefully that happens to me, too.

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-10-58-26-amFlawed is one I’m not too far into yet, but so far I’m really enjoying it. It’s a YA novel set in a society where those who break the rules are branded as “Flawed” for everyone to see. Sort of like The Scarlett Letter in a sense. The Flawed are shunned by society and live under different rules, and without luxury. The main character, Celestine, does something that lands her into some trouble, and could wind up with her being branded as Flawed. That’s about all I know so far since I just started it!

Up Next

This is always a hard one! I have so many great options that I always change my mind a lot before deciding on what to read next. Here are the ones I’m thinking I’ll choose between.

Far From You by Tess Sharpe. It has amazing reviews on Goodreads! Here’s the Goodreads description:

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-11-02-37-am“Sophie Winters nearly died. Twice.

The first time, she’s fourteen, and escapes a near-fatal car accident with scars, a bum leg, and an addiction to Oxy that’ll take years to kick.

The second time, she’s seventeen, and it’s no accident. Sophie and her best friend Mina are confronted by a masked man in the woods. Sophie survives, but Mina is not so lucky. When the cops deem Mina’s murder a drug deal gone wrong, casting partial blame on Sophie, no one will believe the truth: Sophie has been clean for months, and it was Mina who led her into the woods that night for a meeting shrouded in mystery.

After a forced stint in rehab, Sophie returns home to a chilly new reality. Mina’s brother won’t speak to her, her parents fear she’ll relapse, old friends have become enemies, and Sophie has to learn how to live without her other half. To make matters worse, no one is looking in the right places and Sophie must search for Mina’s murderer on her own. But with every step, Sophie comes closer to revealing all: about herself, about Mina and about the secret they shared.”

Sounds good, right? So that’s definitely an option!

Another one I’m looking at that’s been on my list for a while is The Killing Lessons by Saul Black. Here’s the Goodreads description!

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-11-04-03-am“When the two strangers turn up at Rowena Cooper’s isolated Colorado farmhouse, she knows instantly that it’s the end of everything. For the two haunted and driven men, on the other hand, it’s just another stop on a long and bloody journey. And they still have many miles to go, and victims to sacrifice, before their work is done.

For San Francisco homicide detective Valerie Hart, their trail of victims–women abducted, tortured and left with a seemingly random series of objects inside them–has brought her from obsession to the edge of physical and psychological destruction. And she’s losing hope of making a breakthrough before that happens.

But the murders at the Cooper farmhouse didn’t quite go according to plan. There was a survivor, Rowena’s ten-year-old daughter Nell, who now holds the key to the killings. Injured, half-frozen, terrified, Nell has only one place to go. And that place could be even more dangerous than what she’s running from.

In this extraordinary, pulse-pounding debut, Saul Black takes us deep into the mind of a psychopath, and into the troubled heart of the woman determined to stop him.”

Both of them sound great! It could be one of these, or it could be something unrelated. We’ll find out!


What are your WWW’s? I’d love to hear what you’ve read/are reading/want to read soon! I’m always on the hunt for new recommendations!

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

