The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek

screen-shot-2016-12-11-at-5-38-26-pm

Leon has suffered on and off from sleepwalking since his parents died when he was a child. After a violent episode while sleepwalking, he’s started seeing a psychiatrist to help him stop. Through work with the psychiatrist, the sleepwalking incidents have stopped. Now, as an adult, he wakes up to find his wife Natalie badly beaten and packing a suitcase so she can flee their apartment. With no answers, he’s worried that he’s been sleepwalking again, and that her injuries are his fault. He decides to invest in a motion activated camera that he can wear to bed that will show him what happens at night. This sets off a whole chain of discoveries…

This book was SO trippy. Oh my gosh. There are so many moments where it’s hard to tell if Leon is sleeping or awake, because he himself starts to lose a grip on reality. This book was like inception, but creepier. There were definitely moments that gave me goosebumps! I’m glad I didn’t read this at night! From the first sentence of the book, I was completely hooked. I love when that happens! Sometimes it takes me a little while to get completely engaged, but that was not the case with The Nightwalker.

There aren’t a ton of characters in the book, which was nice because it was easy to keep track of everyone, and it allowed the story to completely focus on Leon and his attempts to uncover what happened to Natalie and what he does while he’s asleep. All I can say was, holy crap, that ending. I got the chills! I won’t give anything away, but I loved it. I think it leaves some things up to reader interpretation, which can be hit or miss, but in this case, I think it worked perfectly with the rest of the book. I can’t wait to chat with people about it!

This is the first book by Fitzek that I’ve ever read, and I definitely plan to check out more of his work.

The Nightwalker was originally published in German, and is now being published in English. The English version will be released on February 7, 2017, so be sure to check it out! Thank you to Netgalley, Sebastian Fitzek, and Pegasus Books for the opportunity to read this book in advance in exchange for a review!

 

3 thoughts on “The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek

  1. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday: February releases I’m excited about! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

