The Girl in the Ice (DCI Erika Foster #1) by Robert Bryndza

screen-shot-2016-12-13-at-6-50-14-pm

The Girl in the Ice in the first in the DCI Erika Foster series, and follows Erika as she leads an investigation on the death of a young society girl who was found frozen under the ice. As the investigation proceeds, Erika starts to connect this death to the deaths of three prostitutes in the area. Little does she know, as she attempts to work out the murders, the murder is watching her, waiting for his to add Erika to the list of women he’s killed…

Honestly, I thought The Girl in the Ice was just okay. Based on the description I’d expected more of an “edge of your seat” thriller and less of a police procedural, which is probably my own fault. It has high ratings on Goodreads, so I must be in the minority here.

I really really really wanted more of Erika’s backstory in particular. They talk briefly of the fact that her husband died, and it was “her fault” because she let a task force into a situation that not all of them made it back from, but I needed more! She’s the main character, yet I feel like I know so little about her.

There were also some characters that made an appearance, but then disappeared off of the face of the earth. What happened to the man the story opened with who found the body in the first place? I thought he’d play more of a role in the story.

What I did like was the few chapters where the perspective switched from Erika’s to the killer’s (also known as The Figure). I thought that was a nice touch, and I enjoyed reading about the killer watching Erika (I think you all probably know by now that I’m a sucker for books where the main character is being stalked, so this gave me a little bit of that).

I really liked the beginning and end of the book, it was the middle where parts of it fell flat to me. It felt like there were parts of the book that were unnecessary and could have been moved along more quickly. I did like the ending, and was surprised by the outcome, which is always something I enjoy in a book.

If you like police procedurals and don’t mind limited character development, you’ll love this book! I think I may give the second one a shot and see if I like it any better than I liked this one. This was a solid 3.5 stars for me.

2 thoughts on “The Girl in the Ice (DCI Erika Foster #1) by Robert Bryndza

Leave a Reply

