Flawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern

screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-6-23-18-pm

Flawed is set in a society where perfection rules, any anything outside of being perfect is unacceptable. The main character, Celestine, is a straight-A student who is dating a powerful Judge’s son, and is an all around rule following good-girl. That is, until she breaks a society rule in an act of compassion. This results in her arrest and subsequent trial. The trial will determine what her punishment will be, and most of all, will determine if she is found to be Flawed. Being Flawed means your skin is branded, you wear an armband that marks you as Flawed (think Scarlett Letter), and you follow a different set of rules. No luxuries, bland food, curfews, and ultimately being shunned form society. As the trial results are announced, Celestine finds there are a large number of people who support her choice and are ready to make their own play at overthrowing the government. Flawed follows Celestine as she works to find out who she can trust, and what actions she needs to take next.

I really enjoyed this book! I’m a big fan of books set in dystopian societies, and while this one wasn’t overtly dystopian, it still fits the bill. I liked watching the characters progress through the book in terms of beliefs – in the beginning of the book, so much of what they believe was black and white, and by the end there are definitely shades of grey. The book ends on a cliffhanger (noooooo!) so I’m really excited for it’s sequel, Perfect, which comes out in April 2017. I can’t wait to read it!

I will say, that if you read To All the Boys I’ve loved Before by Jenny Han and didn’t care for Lara Jean, you will likely not like Celestine. She’s much in the same vain in regards to being incredibly eager to be perfect and follow the rules, without stepping a toe out of line. They remind me a lot of each other, so if you don’t like one, you probably won’t like the other. For me, it wasn’t a problem, I liked both characters, even though there were definitely a few times I wanted to slap Celestine for being so naive and innocent. I don’t remember being that naive in High School, but who knows! Maybe I was!

Anyway, I definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys young adult dystopian novels, and I will absolutely be reading Perfect when it comes out next year!

2 thoughts on “Flawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

