Witness by Caroline Mitchell

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-12-16-32-pm

Witness is a thriller about a woman named Rebecca who found herself in an abusive relationship, but was able to escape and send her abusive controlling fiancé to prison. Ten years later, he’s released from prison and is contacting her again. Angry about her testimony against him, he forces her to watch him commit crimes against people she knows and loves, and threatens to kill her if she goes to the police.

Rebecca, living now as Becky is now married and living in a new city has tried to put her ex Solomon in the past, and move forward with her husband and daughter. When she finds a phone in her house that wasn’t hers, she realizes Solomon has not only found out where she lives, but has been inside of her house. When she starts receiving texts on the phone, she realizes he’s playing with her. Each text lists a crime that will be committed against someone she knows unless she nominates someone else to be attacked. As the crimes grow increasingly more severe, Rebecca has to find a way out of this before he comes after her, and on top of that, she doesn’t tell her husband what’s going on, so their relationship becomes strained as she starts acting strange.

The book is told in alternating timelines, flipping back and forth between present time and the past, as told through diary entries, when she first meets Solomon, up through the point where she gets him arrested. I loved reading the flashback chapters and understanding how her relationship with Solomon starts and how he ropes her in before the abuse starts.

I think most people who have known me for a while know that I’m obsessed with books about stalkers/someone being stalked (I don’t know what it is about them, but I love them!!) so I was so excited to get approved for Witness on Netgalley.

I adored this book, and when I wasn’t reading it, I sure was thinking about it! I found myself checking the locks on my doors, and pulling my curtains closed because it was such a creepy book (in the best possible way!) It had me terrified for Rebecca, and on the edge of my seat the entire book, dying to find out how she’d manage to get away. There was one part of the book that I definitely saw coming early on, but overall I was dying to find out how everything would end!

I definitely recommend this book for all thriller lovers! Fans of Elizabeth Haynes Into the Darkest Corner will love Witness. It’s five huge stars from me, and I’d give it more if I could!

A huge thank you to Netgalley, Caroline Mitchell, and Thomas and Mercer for the opportunity to read and review this novel. Witness comes out on December 20th, so be sure to add it to your reading lists – you won’t want to miss this one!

 

One thought on “Witness by Caroline Mitchell

  1. Pingback: 2016 Wrap Up and 2017 Goals! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

