The Body Reader by Anne Frasier

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-7-44-20-pm

The Body Reader follows our main character, Jude, as she escapes from a cell where she’s been held captive for the last 3+ years. Prior to being abducted, she was a detective on her local police force, and after a few months of rehab, she returns to work. Her new partner Uriah isn’t thrilled. He doesn’t trust that she’s ready to be back working on murder cases after such a short time being back in “the real world”. Despite his protests, they are partnered, and begin working a case regarding a string of murdered girls.

Having been held captive for so long, Jude has perfected the art of “reading” facial expressions and body movements, and uses this to her advantage while working these cases. As she continues to investigate, the danger around her grows.

I did enjoy this book, but not as much as I was hoping I would. I was hoping for more “body reading” going into it, given the title and description, and I found that aspect of it lacking. I do think it set the base foundation and understanding for the reader, so that if the author chose to write sequels with the same characters, it would be set up nicely. I’d love reading more about what Jude can learn and understand from people (and even victims) using that particular skill of hers.

Otherwise, I felt like Jude and Uriah both were well developed characters, which I loved. I liked that the book jumped between Jude narrating the present and the past while she was held captive. I loved the twists the book took, and I thought the ending was great! I will say that I didn’t feel a whole lot of tension as I was reading the book – that “oh my gosh, what’s going to happen” feeling was lacking for me, though that’s not necessarily a bad thing. If you’re looking for that heart pounding suspense, you won’t find it here. If you’re looking for a more gradual build with great character development and a surprising ending, this is the book for you!

I’d definitely read more by this author, and would love a sequel with the same characters.

2 thoughts on “The Body Reader by Anne Frasier

Leave a Reply

