Disclaimer by Renée Knight

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-50-40-pm

Imagine if the next thriller you opened was all about you…that’s the tagline for this book, and it had me immediately hooked. What a terrifying thought! That’s exactly what this book was about. Catherine wakes up one day and a new book had made its way onto her night stand. She doesn’t remember buying it, and her husband claims it’s not his. She reads it anyway, and realizes that the book is about something that happened 20 years earlier; her darkest secret. Only, the only other person who knows what happened is dead. So who wrote the book?

The book opens with a really intriguing premise, however it took me more than a third of the book to actually get engaged in it. The book alternates between past, in 1993, and the present in 2013. It also alternates between characters, sometimes with Charlotte, sometimes her husband or son, and sometimes the author of the book Charlotte reads. There’s a long build up before the content of the book Catherine read is revealed, thus exposing her secret, and how Charlotte and the author of the book are connected. I think that’s where I struggled. Without knowing the context of what Catherine was hiding, I wasn’t connecting with her emotions as a character.

Additionally, I didn’t love that I felt like so much of the conflict could have been resolved with simple communication. Every character in the book had issues or tension with other characters and most of them would have been solved in 5 minutes in real life. This isn’t the first book I’ve read that I’ve had the same problem with, and I’m sure it won’t be the last.

What I did love was the last third of the book. In the last third, everything is revealed. The content of the book, the true story, and how all of the pieces fit together. I loved all of the twists and turns, and was excited to finish the book and see how everything played out. I wish the entire book was more similar to the last third, because that definitely would have merited a 5 star review. As it stands right now, I’d say I’d give it 3 stars. If you’re looking for a book that is fast paced from page one, this is not the book for you. If you’re willing to wait until the end of the book to get to the good stuff, then you might want to check this one out.

5 thoughts on “Disclaimer by Renée Knight

Leave a Reply

