Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-7-46-47-am

Finally, my first 5 star review for 2017 is here! It took 6 books for it to happen, but it did! Detective Inspector Robyn Carter is returning to the police force after the death of her husband, and her first case lands her with a missing person’s claim. Lucas Matthews has gone missing, and his wife is worried. As she starts her investigation, another man turns up dead, and the people nearest to Lucas start dying, too. Robyn Begins to think they are connected, but can’t immediately figure out how, though a woman named Abigail seems to be connected to everyone somehow. The story alternates perspectives between Robyn’s POV and Abigail’s, who starts receiving threatening phone calls and notes from someone who is clearly watching her. How the puzzle pieces fit together is up to Robyn to find out.

Let me just say that I loved this book! It did take me a little bit to get used to all of the characters. Aside from Robyn and Abigail’s POVs, we also have part of the story told from a third perspective – “then” which is told through child Alice’s eyes. Alice is a troubled child who has been through some significant trauma and acts out in rage. We aren’t sure who Alice is and how she relates to the story yet. In addition to those 3 POVs, each of them has family and friends/coworkers who are part of the story, which leads to a huge number of characters in the beginning of the book. If you’re like me, and you’re struggling to keep them all straight, don’t worry! Keep reading and it will eventually all make sense and come together.

There were a lot of things I loved about this book! It was such a wild ride, in the best possible way. It was really fact paced, and the twists and turns kept coming! Just when I thought I’d figured it all out, something else would happen and I’d change my mind, and that happened over and over! I loved that it kept me guessing, and the the last 20% of the book had me on the edge of my seat trying to figure out how it would all be resolved!

I also really loved that I felt like the book was written with a lot of intricacies in the plot. You could tell that the author really took her time in thinking everything through. A lot of books rely on one big twist or shock, and I felt like Little Girl Lost had several, but they all tied together perfectly. All of the loose ends were tied up, and everything clicked into place.

All in all, an excellent book that I’d highly recommend for fans of the thriller/suspense/mystery genres! A huge thank you to Netgalley, Bookouture, and Carol Wyer for providing me with an advanced copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Little Girl Lost comes out January 19, 2017 so mark your calendars for this one! You won’t want to miss it!

9 thoughts on “Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer

  1. Pingback: January 2017 Wrap Up! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

