Announcing: Buddy Read and Book Blogger Interview!

screen-shot-2017-01-11-at-8-23-16-am

You may remember that one of my goals for 2017 was to get more involved with the blogging community, and one of the ways I wanted to do that is through buddy reads! I’ll be doing a number of them throughout 2017, and kicking off my very first one with me is Sam from Clues and Reviews! For our very first (but definite not last) buddy read together we’ll be reading:

Quicksand by Malin Persson Giolito and we’ll be starting today! Find her post about our buddy read here, and stay tuned for our reviews!

Sam was my first bookstagram/blogging friend, and I call her my Book BFF! She’s been amazingly supportive, and I just adore her! If you’re not following her blog already, make sure to hop on over and check her out. You’ll find lots of great reviews within the thriller/mystery/suspense genres! So you can all get to know her a little better, I’ve asked her to answer a few questions!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 

I was encouraged by some of my close friends, after I would express what I thought about a book that I was currently loving (or hating), to start a YouTube channel for books. I didn’t feel comfortable behind a camera, so I decided to start writing about them instead. Thus my blog was born!

What have been your favorite and least favorite parts of being a book blogger?

I love meeting other bloggers and connecting with people who enjoy reading as much as I do! It’s very cool. I also love being able to connect with authors; they are like celebrities to me so I am ridiculous every time an author re-tweets a review or comments on a Twitter post. I have no chill. I don’t really have  “least” favourite part. I suppose it is just making sure to stay connected to the reading so that it doesn’t become a chore or a stress. I never want it to become something I do not enjoy.

What have been your 3 favorite books to review since you started book blogging?

That is tricky!  I’ve read some seriously amazing 5 star books.  I will go with The Devil Crept in by Ania Ahlborn, The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle and Baby Doll by Hollie Overton.

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

I have always been a pretty avid and consistent reader; my genre changes somewhat but the amount I read has generally remained the same. My mom used to bring me to the library when I was a toddler and I would spend hours combing the shelves, before I knew how to read obviously, and would make up my own stories to go along with the pictures. Once I started reading, I devoured Nancy Drew and Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen mysteries. I had read the entire Flowers in the Attic series by V.C. Andrews by the time I was eleven. Most of my allowance went to books (I even had a problem with book hoarding back then!) I majored in English Language and Literature in University – so, naturally I read a lot of classics. It was a natural progression that I would end up becoming an English teacher! Books are – and always have been – a huge part of my life!

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favorite books?

WHAT KIND OF QUESTION IS THIS! So hard!

My favourite book of all time is The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

The rest depends on the day and how I feel, how about we go with what are some books that I constantly recommend?  That’s easier!

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson, Nineteen Minutes or The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult, Brother by Ania Ahlborn, the Rizzoli and Isles series by Tess Gerritsen, Bird Box by Josh Malerman.  Danielle, I can go all day!


There you have it! I’m excited to start my first buddy read! Make sure you follow Sam’s blog! You can also find her on Twitter and Instagram!

8 thoughts on “Announcing: Buddy Read and Book Blogger Interview!

    • Mostly we picked a book that was on both of our TBR lists and then we’ll read it at the same time. Then we’ll chat about what we both though, post our reviews and then we’ll link to each other’s blogs with the book review! Then the book gets double exposure, plus it’s fun!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

