It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a meme hosted by Book Date! The purpose is to share what you’re currently reading or about to start. Since I’m currently reading a ton of books, I wanted to participate! I’ll include the title as well as the description from Goodreads.

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-10-50-21-pm“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

*So far, I’m loving this one. If you recall, I’m doing the Beat the Backlist challenge for 2017, and this book has been on my TBR list since early 2014! I’ve heard nothing but great things about it, so it’s about time I read it!

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-10-53-24-pmJuliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

*Okay, so I’m struggling a little to get through this one right now just because of the way it’s written, but also because I’m a little confused. I need to know what’s happening and I’m currently clueless. That said, I’m only 20% (give or take) through, and it has fantastic reviews, so I shall continue and see what happens!

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-10-56-31-pmLouise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

*I’ve heard SO MUCH about Behind Her Eyes and I’ve been dying to read it! I danced for joy when I got approved on Netgalley. I’m not super far in yet, but I’m definitely loving it so far. 

Quicksand by Malin Persson Giolito

screen-shot-2017-01-06-at-9-27-30-amA mass shooting has taken place at a prep school in Stockholm’s wealthiest suburb. Maja Norberg is eighteen years old and on trial for her involvement in the massacre where her boyfriend and best friend were killed. When the novel opens, Maja has spent nine excruciating months in jail awaiting trial. Now the time has come for her to enter the courtroom. But how did Maja, the good girl next door who was popular and excelled at school, become the most hated teenager in the country? What did Maja do? Or is it what she didn’t do that brought her here?

 

 

*This is my buddy read with Sam from Clues and Reviews, and I’m excited to get further into it. So far it reminds me a lot of Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas, which I loved. 

So there you have it! Everything I’m currently reading. Someone clearly needs to control me and tell me not to read so many books at once! Ahh! What are you currently reading? Do you read multiple books at once, too? Someone tell me I’m not alone in my insanity!


Find me on social media!

Twitter

Instagram

Goodreads

Bloglovin’

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I addddore the Raven Cycle. ❤ It's just my favourite series of THE EVER. 😂 And I really liked the Shatter Me series, although not so much the first book? I totally recommend pushing onto the next books though. The characters are just so fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yessss I was worried that I wouldn’t love it as much as I wanted to since everyone talks about how good it is, but I did! That made me happy. I don’t own the sequels yet so I’m going to buy them today and finish the series soon!!

      Like

    • Okay I came back to reply to you again because I hadn’t gotten super far into Shatter Me when I wrote this post and now I’m about halfway through. I’m glad you said that because I am STRUGGLING to get through it right now hahaha I feel like the story is good, but I’m not loving the writing! I’ll definitely finish it but that helps, because I wasn’t sure if I was going to read the other books in the series or not. Thanks for your advice!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

