Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-10-56-31-pm

#WTFthatending has never been a more appropriate hashtag for a book, and I LOVE it! I was so hooked in Behind Her Eyes that I struggled between not being able to read fast enough, and not wanting it to end!

Behind Her Eyes starts off Louise having a one night stand at a bar. The next day she shows up to work and her one night stand turns out to be her new boss David, (totally reminded me of Grey’s Anatomy!) and to top it off, he’s married. They agree to never talk about it again and to keep things professional. Shortly after that, she bumps into a woman on the street and they grab coffee together and start up a friendship. Turns out, the woman is actually David’s wife Adele. The novel bounces perspectives between Louise, Adele’s present, and Adele’s past after her parents shortly died in a fire. In her friendship with Adele and her affair with David, she can tell that something is really off about Adele and David’s marriage, but neither of them will tell her what it is, and she can’t figure it out. Little does she know, it’s putting her in danger.

So let me just say that I loved this book! I feel like this review might be on the shorter side, because I don’t want to say anything that would spoil the book or give anything away! It’s a good idea to go into this one without reading too much about it. The one thing I will say is that I can see this sort of branching outside of it’s genre and not being relegated to being just a thriller book. There are a few things I could see being classified as something else, but I don’t want to say WHAT because it will ruin the book. I know, I know, how frustrating of me!

All of that said, this book did a great job with it’s twists and turns, and I was constantly trying to guess at what was happening and figure it all out, and I had so many predictions and thoughts, but ALL of them were wrong until the very end. I LOVED that. I read a lot of thrillers, so there comes a point where it gets easy to guess the twists that will happen, but I love it when I can’t get anywhere close to the twist.

All in all, I loved Behind Her Eyes and would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a fast paced thriller! Behind Her Eyes will be released on January 31, 2017 and I’d like to thank Netgalley, Flatiron Books, and Sarah Pinborough for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.

10 thoughts on “Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

  1. Pingback: January 2017 Wrap Up! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

