The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft

screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-7-50-58-pm

After reading and loving While You Were Sleeping by the same author, I knew I had to read more of her work! The Girl With No Past is centered around a woman who has fled a traumatic experience from her past, in which we know she’s partly responsible. We don’t know what the event is, but the story alternates perspectives from present time to the past, leading up to the event. Leah lives a quiet solitary life away from the drama of her past until one day, she gets an anonymous email from someone who clearly knows what happened. From there, the emails come more frequently, and then the attacks become physical. Leah knows she’s in danger and that she must figure out who’s threatening her and why now…

I really loved this book. It was quick read, and similar to While You Were Sleeping, there are lots of little events that make the book suspenseful. I wasΒ dying to know what happened in Leah’s past, and it definitely lived up to the tension that was created leading up to it. The build up was worth it. I will say, there’s one fairly graphic scene in the reveal, and it was a little hard to stomach, I’m not going to lie. I don’t want to give away too much, but it was graphic less in the “blood and gore” sense and more in the sense that I had a horrified visceral reaction to it, if that makes sense.

Overall, I really felt for Leah. Without knowing what she’d done, I felt for her because she was so guilty about whatever it was that had happened in the past. The felt like she didn’t deserve anything good, so since her high school boyfriend who was also involved in the incident, she’d stayed single, in a dumpy apartment, and working a job she was very over-qualifed for. With some probing from a friend, she starts going into an internet chat room and chatting with one of the men there, and even then, the person emailing her tells her no man will ever love her after knowing what she’d done.

I also really enjoyed how everything came together in the end, and I loved the final chapter. The surprises that came up in the book were perfectly placed and worked really well. This was another winner from Kathryn Croft in my opinion, and I’ll definitely continue to read her books!

11 thoughts on “The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft

  1. Omg is While You Were Sleeping the same as the movie of the same name with Sandra Bullock in it?!? Because I had noooo idea it was a book and now I want to try it out.😜 I’m so glad you had two wins by this author, though!! YAY for excellent reads.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahah alas, it is not the same! The book version is a thriller about a woman who wakes up in bed with a man who is not her husband BUT he’s dead and she remembers nothing about the night before! :O I love thrillers, which cracks me up that my most read genres are thrillers and YA (probably followed by fantasy!) it’s quite the eclectic mix!

      Like

  2. Pingback: January 2017 Wrap Up! | The Blonde Likes Books

  3. I’m one who had a hard time getting into this book, and I just couldn’t put my finger on why!!! Drove me nuts lol… The writing style and flow was good but IDK maybe it just lacked the pace or emotion I was looking for with such a deep story line haha who knows!!! However, your review is awesome and makes me want to give her another try. So I’m officially adding While You Where Sleeping to my ever-growing-ever-ridiculous TBR! Thanks for the REC πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

