January 2017 Wrap Up!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-34-43-pm

Alright folks, January has come to an end! Who can believe it?! I feel like we just celebrated the new year! In January, I finished 20 books and did my first Buddy Read/Blogger Interview, which was a lot of fun! In my wrap up, I’ll review the books I read in January, and share some of my favorites!

 

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-32-24-pm

I’ll start off on a positive note and share some of my favorites for the month! I rated all of these 5 stars!

  • (#1) Little Girl Lost by Carol Dyer was my first 5 star review of the year!
  • (#2) The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater was one of my “beat the backlist” books I finally got through!
  • (#3) Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough was one I was so excited to read after hearing tons about it! It was released TODAY so make sure you check this one out!
  • (#4) Lies by TM Logan I LOVED! Look for it to be released in early May.
  • (#5) The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin was another book I read for the Beat the Backlist challenge! It had been sitting on my self for more than a year!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-35-38-pm

This year, I also completed some of my first review requests from authors and publishers! I’ve been really excited about these, but also selective in the ones I accept. I want to make sure I have the time to dedicate to reading and reviewing these books quickly. Here are the two I read in January.

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-36-27-pm

One of my 2017 goals was to reduce the size of my backlist. You guys, it’s seriously out of control! My “To Read” shelf on Goodreads has over 700 books on it! Ahh! One of the things I did earlier this month was go through my TBR list and delete anything I no longer have an interest in reading. I also went through the free/cheap Kindle books that had been on my Kindle since I first bought it and deleted anything that I didn’t want to read anymore either. That helped my stress a little, but there’s still so much progress to be made! Here are the books I read in January from my backlist (excluding The Raven Boys and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer since I already listed those!)

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-20-pm

And then the remaining books fell into none of those categories. Some were ARCS and some were already released, but ones that I didn’t own already. Here they all are!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-38-39-pm

Before I wrap up I want to quickly talk about the two books I’m currently reading! I don’t know that I’ll finish either of them before the end of the day, so they’ll more likely make it into my February wrap up/reviews, but here they are…

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – I’d been DYING to get my hands on Caraval and it’s FINALLY HERE!!! It was released today, so if you haven’t gone to pick it up, DO IT!

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-9-40-06-amWhatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . . 

Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer – I can’t wait to see how the series ends!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-22-59-pmMara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.
She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.
She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.
Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-38-pm

**So what do you think? How are you doing toward your 2017 reading goal? Have you read any of the books I read in January? Comment below and tell me!**

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “January 2017 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

