The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkin

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-22-59-pm

Okay, so I have to be honest here. The Retribution of Mara Dyer felt really disappointing in comparison to the other two novels. If you haven’t read the first two and are planning to read them, you might want to stop here because there will be spoilers for things that happened in the first two books (but no spoilers for book 3!). 

Just like the second book, the third installment picks up right where the last one left off. Mara knows now that the powers she has are because of genetic markers and experiments that were done on a number of people, including Noah, Jude, and Jamie. Dr. Kells was in on the entire thing, which is why she was forced to stay at the Horizons center. In the last book, we find Mara trying to escape from Horizons and Kells, and understand how their powers came to be, and why they were chosen.

Mostly, I felt bored. I felt like I should be really excited to see the conclusion of the story, but a lot of the time I wanted to put the book down and walk away because it was so tediously boring. I used to love Mara as the main character, but I didn’t like her in 97% of this book. I know she’d been through a lot, which naturally will change someone a little bit, but I felt like she wasn’t at all the girl she started out to be, and that didn’t work for me. She felt vindictive, petty, and self centered, which is not at all the girl she started out being.

I also felt like there were a lot of things that felt unresolved and that there were questions that weren’t answered. I get that not all of them were important, but I felt like the only stories that got wrapped up were Mara’s, Jamie’s, Noah’s, and Daniel’s. What happened to Noah’s dad and Mara’s family? What about Stella? And the Professor? NO CLOSURE. I could seriously list 5 more things that we didn’t get closure on, but I shall refrain. Like, I literally feel like the closure that existed was to wrap up Mara and Noah’s romance, and without giving anything away, it felt so cheesy.

I can’t say I loved this book. I’m honestly not sure if I even liked it. A great big MEH is what it gets from me.

**Who else read the last book? What did you think? Am I the only one who was really let down?**

5 thoughts on “The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkin

  1. I totally agree with you. I enjoyed the first two books but with this one I had to skim read through it just to finish it. As with you I didn’t like Mara in this one, she was a completely different person with no emotions and very selfish, sometimes I didn’t even understand what was happening.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gah so I haven’t read this one yet but I SHOULD’VE BY NOW?!? I literally procrastinate all the series finales. It’s such a problem.😂 But I always get worried I’ll be disappointed and this sounds like it’ll follow the disappointing-finale-syndrome? Eeek. Still, I mean, I will read it eventually but just GOTTA WORK UP THE COURAGE. I’m still really excited for the Noah books coming out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It definitely hit that disappointing finale for me! It seems more common in trilogies for some reason! But some of them do it so well (like The Internal Devices) so it’s obviously possible so I have no idea what the deal is! 😂 obviously I came into these books late but I heard she even pushed the release of this one back because she wasn’t happy with it but I still hated it. Ha! Maybe you’ll like it better than I did! You’ll have to let me know!

      Like

  3. Pingback: February Wrap Up | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

