The Night Bird (Frost Easton #1) by Brian Freeman @bfreemanbooks @thomasmercerUK #thomasmercer

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-6-26-07-pm

Lucy and her roommate/friend Brynn are driving home to their apartment in San Francisco when an accident happens and they are trapped on a bridge waiting for it to clear out. Unfortunately, Lucy is terrified of bridges. Brynn tries to calm her down by singing in the car, and chatting with her to take her mind off of it. In the middle of their conversation, Brynn starts to freak out out of nowhere. Screaming, she gets out of the car and ends up jumping/falling off of the bridge while trying to get away from whatever invisible thing she seems to be running from.

For homicide detective Frost Easton, this isn’t the first woman who has suffered from a similar psychotic break which resulted in them killing themselves. He’s determined to figure out what (or who) is causing these women to react so violently, so he can prevent it from happening again. His investigations lead him to famous (or infamous, depending on who you ask) psychiatrist Francesca Stein, who specializes in treating severe phobias by changing the memories the patient has that are causing the phobia. All of the victims were patients of hers at one point.

Now, both Frankie and Frost are being stalked and threatened by someone who calls themselves The Night Bird. Who is The Night Bird and why is he after them? You’ll have to read to find out!

I have to say, I was so pleasantly surprised by The Night Bird! I’m not quite sure what I expected going in, but I hadn’t heard too much about the book prior to reading it. I’m so glad I did! I loved it!

From the first page, The Night Bird is an intense, fast paced read. I was constantly trying to read faster just so I could get to the end and figure out what was happening and why! I was dying to find out who The Night Bird was, and the reveal did not disappoint! I absolutely loved all of the twists and turns that came up – I didn’t guess the ending of this one, which is always a plus in my book!

I also really liked the ending of the book. I thought it wrapped up the story well. The only thing I wish I saw more of was Lucy and Frost’s budding relationship. They started developing feelings for each other, and there was some build up didn’t lead anywhere. I know that not all real life attractions turn into a relationship or something more, so I’m not claiming it was unrealistic, but I would have loved to see that go somewhere since Lucy was a large part of the story. Either way, it didn’t take away from the book and probably works better since this will be a series featuring Frost.

The other thing I loved about this book is that it actually made me think about memory and how fragile it is. There was a lot of talk in the book about whether Frankie’s work was ethical – sort of hypnotizing patients and changing facts about the memory until it was something new and less scary…I can’t say I’d agree with that practice, but I also don’t have any memories that are so horrific that I want to forget them. That said, Frankie talked to Frost about how memories can be altered by the power of suggestion, or by repetitive repetition from someone else, and I think that’s true. If you leave the grocery store and go home where someone asked you what color the car was that was parked next to you, you might think you know the answer, but when someone continually asks you if you’re sure, you’ll likely start to second guess yourself. How can you be positive? So that aspect of the book got me thinking, and I thought it was a really unique concept to use in a psychological thriller.

I definitely recommend this one, so be sure to check it out! I’d love to hear what you think if you’ve read it!

5 thoughts on “The Night Bird (Frost Easton #1) by Brian Freeman @bfreemanbooks @thomasmercerUK #thomasmercer

  1. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday: February releases I’m excited about! | The Blonde Likes Books

  2. Pingback: February Wrap Up | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

