House by Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-6-26-15-pm

House is a supernatural thriller about seven people who end up in a house together. Shortly after arriving, odd things start happening and getting progressively worse. It culminates when a tin can is thrown into the house with three rules for the game.

  1. God came to my house and I killed him
  2. I will kill anyone who does to my house and I killed God
  3. Give me one dead body, and I might let rule two slide

Now everyone in the house has to decide who to kill if anyone, and who is behind the tin can.

I’m sorry that my last few reviews have been negative ones, but this is another one I didn’t love. I really wanted to read a good supernatural horror – I LOVE scary movies, especially when they have to do with demons/hauntings/possession, etc. Based on the description of this book, I thought I’d found a winner. I did not. I’ve heard great things about Ted Dekker, and this was my first book by him, and it was a let down. After I finished reading the book and composing my thoughts, I read a few reviews and it sounds like this was not his normal caliber of work, so I’m still open to giving him another chance.

To me, the book felt really convoluted. There were so many perspective jumps that it was hard to keep track of who was in which room of the house, and where each room led. You’d think that those things wouldn’t matter, but so much of the book was spent talking about those things, that it kind of did. Also, on a more pedantic note, it bothered me that of the three “rules” only one could even sort of be interpreted as a rule. The other two were just statements!

For a book that is supposed to be a supernatural horror, I didn’t feel scared, tense, or on edge at all. The characters fell flat to me and had little to no personality, and the personality they did have was  crappy, so I wasn’t really rooting for them to get out alive anyway. I was shocked at how many parts of the book felt boring.

Lastly, this book evolved into a completely different story than how it started. It was a blatant good vs. evil, god vs. the devil sort of story, with angels and the repenting your sins…the whole nine yards. I wasn’t aware going in that the authors were writers of Christian books, and I want to be VERY clear that I have nothing at all against that, and that I only bring it up because had I known that going in, I could have guessed the ending and would have skipped this book all together. It never got preachy, which I appreciate, but the moral of the story was very clear.

Overall, this one just didn’t do it for me. I don’t read horror very often but after reading the first Mara Dyer book and expecting a book about a girl who was possessed (which it is not!) I’ve been in the mood for one. If you have a good scary horror book that you can recommend, let me know down in the comments!

7 thoughts on “House by Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker

  1. Pingback: House by Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker | Fantasy Sources of Art, Gifts, Books, and Article Resources

  2. Pingback: February Wrap Up | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

