Friday Finds – February 17, 2017

Friday Finds is a weekly feature designed to show off the new books you’ve found and added to your TBR this week! As much as I’ve been trying to be selective about adding books to my TBR list so I can get it under control, I’ve still managed to add 6 books to my TBS list this week, and here they are!

Best Day Ever by Kaira Rouda

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-1-12-49-pmPaul Strom has the perfect life: a glittering career as an advertising executive, a beautiful wife, two healthy boys and a big house in a wealthy suburb. And he’s the perfect husband: breadwinner, protector, provider. That’s why he’s planned a romantic weekend for his wife, Mia, at their lake house, just the two of them. And he’s promised today will be the best day ever.

But as Paul and Mia drive out of the city and toward the countryside, a spike of tension begins to wedge itself between them and doubts start to arise. How perfect is their marriage, or any marriage, really? How much do they trust each other? Is Paul the person he seems to be? And what are his secret plans for their weekend at the cottage?

Forcing us to ask ourselves just how well we know those who are closest to us, Best Day Ever crackles with dark energy, spinning ever tighter toward its shocking conclusion. In the bestselling, page-turning vein of The Couple Next Door and The Dinner, Kaira Rouda weaves a gripping, tautly suspenseful tale of deception and betrayal dark enough to destroy a marriage…or a life.

Alterations by Stephanie Scott – I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Steph in real life, and she is a sweetheart! I can’t wait to read her book, Alterations.

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-1-14-53-pmIf anyone saw the prom boards Amelia Blanco makes on her favorite fashion app, they’d think Ethan Laurenti was her boyfriend. They wouldn’t know that all the plans she’s made for them are just dreams, and that she’s the girl who watches him from the kitchen while her parents cook for his famous family.

When Amelia’s abuelita enrolls her in a month-long fashion internship in NYC, Amelia can’t imagine leaving Miami–and Ethan–for that long. As soon as she gets to New York, however, she finds a bigger world and new possibilities. She meets people her own age who can actually carry on a conversation about stitching and design. Her pin boards become less about prom with Ethan and more about creating her own style. By the time she returns to Miami, Amelia feels like she can accomplish anything, and surprises herself by agreeing to help Ethan’s awkward, Steve-Jobs-wannabe brother, Liam, create his own fashion app.

As Liam and Amelia grow closer, Ethan realizes that this newly confident, stylish girl may be the one for him after all . . . even though he has a reality TV star girlfriend he conveniently keeps forgetting about. The “new and improved” Amelia soon finds herself in between two brothers, a whole lot of drama, and a choice she never dreamed she’d have to make.

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-1-16-46-pmMy name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:

1. I’m in a coma.
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it’s perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

 

 

Deceptive Practices by Simon Wood

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-1-18-28-pmDo you have a cheating spouse? Has counseling failed? Want to get even? Then hire Infidelity Limited…

Olivia Shaw grew up poor on the wrong side of the tracks, but with her thriving real estate business and a solid marriage, her life finally feels stable…until she discovers her husband is cheating. Enraged, her sister offers a solution: Infidelity Limited, a firm that promises to rough up her husband and scare him straight.

Overnight, Olivia’s life is upended as she, like all of Infidelity Limited’s clients, is drawn into a dark web of blackmail and murder. Now, Olivia is emerging as a prime suspect in her husband’s death. As a dogged detective closes in, Olivia has only one option: take down Infidelity Limited before it’s too late.

Method 15/33 by Shannon Kirk

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-1-19-26-pmImagine a helpless, pregnant 16-year-old who’s just been yanked from the serenity of her home and shoved into a dirty van. Kidnapped. Alone. Terrified.

Now forget her …

Picture instead a pregnant, 16-year-old, manipulative prodigy. She is shoved into a dirty van and, from the first moment of her kidnapping, feels a calm desire for two things: to save her unborn son and to exact merciless revenge.

She is methodical, calculating, scientific in her plotting. A clinical sociopath? Leaving nothing to chance, secure in her timing and practice, she waits for the perfect moment to strike. Method 15/33 is what happens when the victim is just as cold as the captors.

The agents trying to find a kidnapped girl have their own frustrations and desires wrapped into this chilling drama. In the twists of intersecting stories, one is left to ponder. Who is the victim? Who is the aggressor?

The Forgotten Girl by Rio Youers

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-1-20-27-pmHarvey Anderson is a twenty-six-year-old street performer from New Jersey. He likes his peaceful life, but everything he knows is turned upside down when he is abducted and beaten by a group of nondescript thugs. Working for a sinister man known as “the spider,” these goons have spent the last nine years searching for Harvey’s girlfriend, Sally Starling. Now they think they know where she lives. And who she loves.

There’s only one problem: Sally is gone and Harvey has no memory her. Which doesn’t make any sense, until the spider explains that Sally has the unique ability to selectively erase a person’s memories. An ability she has used to delete herself from Harvey’s mind.

But as Harvey recovers from his beating, he discovers that Sally left him with one partial memory… a dancing girl in blue dress.

Life isn’t peaceful for Harvey anymore, and he soon finds himself in a war he can never win.

Or can he?

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-38-pm

Are any of these on your TBR list? What are some of your recent book finds that you’re excited about? Share below in the comments!

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds – February 17, 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s