Vicious by V.E. Schwab

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-6-55-23-pm

Vicious was a book that was high on my Beat the Backlist challenge list, and it did not disappoint!

College friends, Victor and Eli set off to complete a science research project that will prove or disprove the existence of “EO’s” – ExtraOrdinarys. With the hypothesis that it takes a high-adrenaline near death experience to create someone with special abilities, they attempt to test it themselves. After the experiment works, Victor and Eli both are revived with special abilities, or “powers”, and after a short period of time, their friendship becomes strange. After a conflict that leads to them attempting to try and kill each other, Victor and Eli are separated and haven’t seen each other in ten years. Until now.

Told in alternating timelines and perspectives, we see both what led up to the experiments and subsequent fight between Victor and Eli ten years ago, and we also see both Eli and Victor’s perspectives in the present. Eli has decided that all EO’s are unnatural and is working his way through executing them all. Victor has plans to stop him.

This fast paced, dark, engaging story will not disappoint!

I LOVED this book! I should have known I would, since I loved A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows by the same author. I really enjoyed how flawed many of the characters were – some were dark, some were broken, and some were trying to figure out their lives and their powers. I really liked how well written they all were, but especially Eli. So many books tell you who the bad guy is and tell you they are scary, etc, but don’t actually make you feel it. You definitely feel it in Vicious. I HATED Eli, which is a sign of great writing if you ask me! I actually felt like I wanted to stab him in the eye with a thousand needles vs. just knowing and understanding that he was the antagonist. I liked that.

The book was very fast paced, and there was a lot of build up leading to Eli and Victor’s final showdown, which I loved! I also really enjoyed that instead of dumping us into the present time and telling us about Victor and Eli’s past, that we also had the flashback chapters to show us. I think it worked really well in this book and lent a lot to the overall story.

It looks like there will be a sequel to Vicious at some point, which is awesome, because the characters are great. That said, the book ends with everything wrapped up, no cliffhangers, so if you’re waiting to start the book until the second one is released, don’t! Start it now!

I’d definitely recommend this book for fans of the Fantasy genre! I feel like it was right on the brink of YA Fantasy, but landed in the Fantasy without the YA, which I appreciated.

**Have you read this one? What did you think?**

 

12 thoughts on “Vicious by V.E. Schwab

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

