Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-5-59-11-pm

Every other book I’ve read by Harlan Coben I was totally in love with, so this one felt like a letdown. It wasn’t my favorite.

Former special ops pilot Maya loses her husband Joe to a random shooting, leaving her a single mother to their daughter. A friend gives her a nanny cam to use in the house to help ensure her daughter’s safety, and Maya sets it up in her house, but to her surprise, sees her husband Joe on the camera playing with their daughter – after he was murdered.

This prompts Maya to start digging into her husband’s past, but she soon realizes there may be more secrets than she was prepared to learn.

I’m having a hard time writing this review, because a lot of the problems I had with the book lay in the things that would be spoilers for those who haven’t read the book. I will say a few things. First, I found the story really interesting in the beginning and end, but the middle lost me. It felt convoluted and confusing at times. There were constantly new characters being introduced that were somehow connected to her husband, and it got a little messy trying to keep up.

Second, my biggest issue was that I found a lot of the plot unbelievable, especially once the ending was revealed. I won’t give anything away, but once I read the end, it felt like a lot of  the things that happened in the book wouldn’t have happened in a real life situation. Last, I hard a hard time connecting with Maya as the lead. I found her unlikeable a lot of times, and I wasn’t her biggest fan.

That all said, I did like the end of the book and didn’t see it coming, which is always a plus in my book. While this was a dud for me, I’ve loved Harlan Coben’s other books, so it definitely wont turn me off of reading his books in the future. If you’re looking for your first Harlan Coben book, I’d recommend starting with Tell No One instead of Fool Me Once.

3 thoughts on “Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben

  1. I think your review demonstrates just how difficult it can be to review a book without giving away spoilers. By noting how much you enjoyed other works by Coben, it shows your audience that you have something with which to compare this latest book. It lends strength to your opinion. Nice going.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: February Wrap Up | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

