The Silent Girls by Eric Rickstad

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-6-13-08-pm

The Silent Girls opens with a super creepy murder of a pregnant woman, and I was immediately hooked. Unfortunately, that opening chapter was the best part of the book for me and the rest was just okay.

Retired-detective-turned-private-investigator Frank Rath is pulled into a missing girl case by a friend of his. As he begins to help his friend, a string of murdered women are uncovered and are seemingly being killed by the same person in the same way, however Frank can’t initially figure out their connection. As the connection is revealed, Frank learns how dark some people’s minds are.

The Silent Girls sounded really great on paper, and I was excited to read it as one of my Beat the Backlist challenge books. As previously mentioned, the initial paragraph had me totally hooked and I was so excited to read the rest of the book, and then was let down when the rest of the book was nowhere near as creepy as the first chapter.

There were quite a few characters in the book but I felt like they all sounded the same and I had a hard time keeping them all straight. Additionally, I felt like there were pieces of the book that served no purpose to the overall story and could have been cut out to shorten the overall book and leave the reader more time with the main plot. There were times where it felt like two separate stories were being told – one with Frank’s personal life and the trial of The Preacher, and one with the dead girls and his daughter missing after going undercover to help him find out what was going on. It sort of felt like two different books, which I didn’t love.

I really liked the ending of the book and enjoyed learning who the killer was and why, however the book ended on a cliffhanger, which I hated. It felt completely unnecessary to me because it would have been really easy to wrap the book up and not need a sequel. It left me with a lot of unanswered questions, and since I won’t be reading the sequel, I’ll never know!

Overall, this was not a winner for me, but wasn’t horrible either. I’ve rated it 3 stars.

*Have you read The Silent Girls? What did you think? Let me know down in the comments!*

10 thoughts on “The Silent Girls by Eric Rickstad

  1. Nice, honest review! I was going to read this a while back, and for whatever reason, decided not to. I don’t like the idea of the characters all sounding the same. So I don’t know. It may be a while before I decide to read this one, if I decide to read it. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the straight to the point honesty of this review! It sounds like the characters and plot were a bit muddled at some point? I also am not one for cliffhangers. It is ok to leave a somewhat open ending to allow for segue into another book, but not cliffhangers haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award and One Lovely Blogger Award – thebookwormsfantasy

  4. Pingback: February Wrap Up | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

