Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Grey

screen-shot-2017-03-04-at-7-37-53-pm

Picking up where book one left off, Ten Thousand Skies Above You jumps right into action with Marguerite and Paul in another dimension. Wyatt Conley still wants to use Marguerite to do his bidding, so in order to convince her, splinters Paul’s soul and scatters them across dimensions. It’s up to Marguerite and Theo to find the pieces of her Paul’s soul and restore him. As she travels and meets many Paul in many dimensions, she questions whether she loves every version of him they way she thought she did.

I really liked Ten Thousand Skies Above You, but didn’t love it the way I loved A Thousand Pieces of You. I’ll start with the things I did like. Overall, I loved the story and the pacing. I was engaged in the story from the first paragraph, and found myself eager to find out what happened. There was a lot of action, which made the story fly by, and I felt like I finished it really quickly. I also LOVED the ending and cannot wait to see how the story concludes.

Now, for the things I didn’t love. I felt like there were a few times where I felt that things were being told to the reader but I didn’t feel it, or felt like I needed more information. For example, Paul’s soul being splintered. HOW? I need more information other than “Wyatt splintered Paul’s soul”. I had too many questions! While I liked most of the characters, I can’t say I love Paul. I mean, he’s okay I guess? But he seems so flat and boring! The entire story was spend following Theo and Marguerite, and I can’t help but want them to end up together. I liked them better than her and Paul from book one, but thought my opinion would change as the story progressed…but it hasn’t. Paul and Marguerite’s relationship is another part of the story I felt like is told to the reader without making the reader (at least THIS reader) believe it. We hear so often that Marguerite loves Paul, but WHY? There was hardly any time spent in the first book talking about their friendship or progression to more, and there was even less in this book. I don’t buy it. I don’t feel anything about their relationship, and that’s not what I want from the main pairing in the book!

All of that said, I rated the book 4/5 stars. I’m excited to read the final book in the series!

**Have you read the book? What did you think about it? Let me know down in the comments!**

One thought on “Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Grey

  1. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap Up! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

