With Malice by Eileen Cook

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 9.02.19 AM

High school senior Jill wakes up in the hospital after being in and out of consciousness for a few days. With no memory of how she got there, she tries to piece together what she’s being told by her parents and doctors – that she was in a car accident during her school trip to Italy which also killed her best friend Simone. Jill can’t even remember being in Italy, and now there are claims that the accident maybe wasn’t an accident. Jill is now the center of a murder investigation. How can she prove her innocence when she can’t even remember being on vacation?

I really liked the premise of With Malice, and I enjoyed the first half of the book. That said, I didn’t love it overall. I felt like it was trying to be Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas, but was unsuccessful. There were a lot of similarities between the two books, and most books that are compared to Dangerous Girls won’t stack up, because it was amazing.

I won’t give anything away, but I also didn’t like the resolution of the book. It felt unbelievable and I had a hard time believing it. I’m struggling to write this because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I’ll just say that some of the actions taken by some characters felt out of character from what we knew about them. I get that sometimes that’s what happens in books or real life, but it wasn’t done well enough for me to actually buy it in With Malice.

What I did like was Jill’s relationship with her roommate at the rehab center. They seemed to have each others backs, and I enjoyed seeing them help each other progress and just be friends to each other. I also enjoyed the writing in the book. It was easy to read, and I was hooked enough in the story to not want to put the book down until everything was revealed.

If you’re in the market for a light mystery vs. a fast paced thriller, you may like With Malice. If the story sounds appealing but you’re not sure if you’ll like it, I suggest checking out Dangerous Girls instead! I can’t recommend that one enough!

8 thoughts on “With Malice by Eileen Cook

  1. “If the story sounds appealing but you’re not sure if you’ll like it, I suggest checking out Dangerous Girls instead!”
    ^ THIS. I said the exact same thing in my review. 🙂 I mean, this wasn’t a bad book by any means, but compared to the masterpiece that is Dangerous Girls there really is no comparison. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap Up! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

