The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds #1) by Alexandra Bracken

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 2.37.53 PM

Ruby lives in a world where children start dying around the age they turn 10. Many who don’t die develop supernatural abilities, and are referred to as Psi kids. These children are sent to “rehabilitation camps”. Shortly after Ruby turns 10, they come for her, and she’s sent to the rehab camp, where she remains until she’s 16. Now, six years later, she manages to escape the camp and joins up with a small group of other kids who also escaped their camp, Liam, Chubs, and Zu. They all are looking for East River, where it’s said other Psi kids live and are free. When they get there, things are not quite what they expected…

The Darkest Minds has been on my backlist since 2013, and I’m glad I finally read it! I really enjoyed Ruby as the lead, and I loved that we say her as a confused child with no idea why she was being taken to this camp, up to the point where she’s now much older and experienced in the horror that is the Thurmond camp. She was a strong character, and relied on her gut instincts to get her through situations, which I loved.

I loved each of the characters too! Liam was so sweet, and I loved watching feelings unfold between him and Ruby. Zu was so sweet, and I thought it was so cute how everyone watched out for her and protected for her. Chubs was definitely a character we saw grow and develop throughout the story – he was initially very reluctant to allow Ruby to travel with him and his friends, but grew to trust her the more she proved herself.

I’m not always into superpower type of stories, especially if they get too supernatural, but I felt like this was done perfectly. It felt really dystopian, which is a genre I love to read, with a little sci-fi mixed in, with the disease that caused the kids to develop the powers. I ended up loving this one as it wasn’t TOO out there. I loved learning more about the different powers each kid had and what their backstories were.

The book left off on a cliffhanger, which should lead us right into book two. I’m excited to check out the rest of the series and see where things go!

**Have you read this series? If so, what did you think? Let me know down in the comments!**

One thought on “The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds #1) by Alexandra Bracken

  1. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap Up! | The Blonde Likes Books

Leave a Reply

