March 2017 Wrap Up!

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 6.23.39 PM

I can’t believe March is already over – it feels like the month flew by! I am a little disappointed in my progress for March. I’ve shared with you guys before that I suffer from depression, and some periods of life are better than others. In the first half of March, I was struggling a lot. I wasn’t reading or posting on bookstagram because I had no motivation to do even the basic things in life, let alone extra things. After that, I got really sick, and again just didn’t have the energy or concentration to read a lot. That said, I was able to get through 15 books in March, and I’m still ahead of schedule to meet my 2017 goal of 200 books. Below I’ll share them all with you and let you know which ones were my favorite!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-32-24-pm

Here are all of the books I rated 5 stars!

  • (#1) Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens – this was an excellent thriller that kept me hooked from page 1!
  • (#2) The Lost Children by Helen Phifer – another thriller that I loved with some parts set in an insane asylum!
  • (#3) The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken – this book had been on my backlist since February of 2014 and I’m so glad I finally read it! It’s a dystopian book about children who develop supernatural abilities.

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-36-27-pm

Aside from The Darkest Minds, here are the books I read as part of my Beat the Backlist challenge. I was pretty proud of myself for getting through so many backlist book this month! I read some of the books that had been on my backlist the longest, and it felt great to finally clear them off my TBR! So far I’ve read 25 backlist books and my original goal was to read 40 backlist books, so I’ll definitely be aiming for more than that through the course of the year.

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-20-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-38-39-pm

Now that we’ve started April, I wanted to share what I’m currently reading.

I just finished Bird Box by Josh Malerman, so look for that review coming soon! I’m also reading:

The Drowning Girls by Paula Treick DeBoard

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 6.44.39 PMLiz McGinnis never imagined herself living in a luxurious gated community like The Palms. Ever since she and her family moved in, she’s felt like an outsider amongst the Stepford-like wives and their obnoxiously spoiled children. Still, she’s determined to make it work—if not for herself, then for her husband, Phil, who landed them this lavish home in the first place, and for her daughter, Danielle, who’s about to enter high school.

Yet underneath the glossy veneer of The Palms, life is far from idyllic. In a place where reputation is everything, Liz soon discovers that even the friendliest residents can’t be trusted—and almost everyone has secrets they’d do anything to protect. So when the gorgeous girl next door befriends Danielle, Liz can’t help but find sophisticated Kelsey’s interest in her shy and slightly nerdy daughter a bit suspicious.

But while Kelsey quickly becomes a fixture in the McGinnis home, Liz’s relationships with both Danielle and Phil grow strained. Now even her own family seems to be hiding things, and it’s not long before their dream of living the high life quickly spirals out of control.…

 

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves 

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 6.47.01 PMSixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-38-pm

**How did you do on your March reading goals? Have you read any of the books I read last month? Let me know down in the comments!** 

2 thoughts on “March 2017 Wrap Up!

  1. I feel your pain my depression and anxiety has been getting in the way of my reading too!! Just keep on keeping on 😀 spring is right around the corner and the sunny skies will help. I love reading your reviews!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

