Look Behind You by Sibel Hodge

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 7.01.54 PM

Chloe wakes up underground, bound in a room that she has no memory of being taken to. After she manages to escape, a stranger finds her on the side of the road and brings her to a nearby hospital. Chloe surmises that she was kidnapped, but has no memory of the last 6 weeks.

After her husband brings her home from the hospital, she is told that she’s previously been institutionalized for mental illness when she had a negative reaction to antidepressants that she was on. Her husband tells her that she started screaming and digging in the garden, claiming someone was following her, but that it was all hallucinations from the medications. Unsure whether or not she can trust her own memory, she decides to investigate on her own since the police won’t take her seriously. It’s during her investigations that she realizes her husband has been lying to her…who can she trust and is she still in danger?

I really enjoyed Look Behind You! I really liked Chloe as a character, and I felt so bad for her. The situation she was in with her husband was awful, and she took so much of the blame for it. I loved seeing her get stronger as a person and become more independent when she realizes she wants happiness in her life. I also loved how determined she was. I can’t imagine how frustrating it would be to not know who you can trust, especially when the doctors, police, and even your own husband don’t believe that you were kidnapped.

The entire book I was suspicious of everyone! I didn’t know who could be trusted, including Claire! I had my suspicions, but they definitely changed throughout the book as the story progressed and more details were revealed. I loved the ending and was so happy to finally have all of the pieces of the puzzle put together. I flew through this book and finished it in one sitting – I had to know how it would end!

The only thing I was sort of missing was a big twist. There really wasn’t one, so I found myself thinking that the end of the book was sort of obvious. I kept waiting for something else to happen, but the shocking twist I expected never came. It’s not always necessary to have that in a book. but it can help throw the reader off, and I always enjoy that. Regardless, this was still a 4 star read for me that I’d recommend to all fans of the psychological thriller genre!

6 thoughts on “Look Behind You by Sibel Hodge

Leave a Reply

