Dare Me by Megan Abbott

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 7.30.05 PM

Unfortunately, I hated this book. This was a situation where I bought the book in a store, thinking the description sounded good. Then, I added it on Goodreads and saw that it didn’t have very good reviews. From there, it sat on my shelf from the time I bought it in 2013 to now. I was making a serious effort to get through some of the backlist books that have been on my shelf the longest, and this was one of those. I hoped that despite the bad reviews, I might enjoy this one. I was wrong.

Dare Me is about a group of high school cheerleaders who get a new pretty, 20-something coach. These cheerleaders are selfish, rude, entitled, and think they are adults, especially the head cheerleader named Beth, so she takes it upon herself to try and undermine the new coach at every chance she gets. She looks for opportunities to hold things over the coach’s head. Beth’s best friend and second in command, Addy, warms up quickly to the coach, and ends up befriending her. When a suicide happens, the group is shaken, and the police start questioning the coach as well as some of the girls on the squad.

There were a number of things about the book that bothered me, starting with the writing. I think the author was trying to write the way teenage girls speak, but instead it came across as very short very fragmented sentences that were hard to read. It’s been a while since I was in my teens, but I have to think that no one talks like that. It felt like the author tried to guess at what teens sound like instead of spending time with teens to figure it out. The writing style put me off so much that I thought multiple times about putting the book down and not finishing it.

The next thing I had issues with were the characters. I didn’t like a single one of them. Not one of them was a good person. I had to wonder constantly where their parents were, since they were constantly at the coach’s house until wee hours in the morning multiple days of the week. Don’t their parents care where they were?

Lastly, I felt like there wasn’t really a point to the entire book. There was no coming of age, no big revelations, there were examples of bad friends, backstabbing, and sex, but no purpose for any of it. I thought the book would go a different direction when I read the description, but unfortunately this one didn’t. This was not a winner for me, and I can’t stay I’d recommend it to anyone. I rated this one 1 star.

**Have you read this one? What did you think? What was the last book you read that you were disappointed in? Let me know down in the comments!**

7 thoughts on “Dare Me by Megan Abbott

Leave a Reply

