Bird Box by Josh Malerman

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 7.44.37 PM

As news reports start coming in of seemingly normal people going crazy and then killing themselves, Malorie starts to worry about what’s happening in the world. These reports claim that each of the people who went crazy all saw something just before it happened. What they saw, no one knows. As rumors start swirling that what these people saw were actually creatures, Malorie decides she needs to flee her house and get somewhere safer, especially now that she just found out she’s pregnant. Not far from where she lives, a group of people have offered shelter to those in need, so she headsΒ there.

Told in alternating timelines, we follow Malorie when the events first start happening and then fast forward to five years later, where she’s now trying to flee again to a place that she and the two 4 year old children that are with her can live safely, and in a world where they don’t constantly have to be blindfolded. In order to get to this place, Malorie and the kids will have to row 20 miles down a river, while blindfolded the entire time. Who knows what’s lurking outside?

I really loved Bird Box. It was definitely creepy at times, and I was constantly wondering what the creatures were, where they came from, how they were making people go crazy, etc. I need answers! I flew through the book hoping to find out.

Malorie was a really endearing protagonist. I can’t imagine first finding out that you’re unexpectedly pregnant, and now having to fight for survival for not just your own life, but the life of your unborn child at the same time. Learning how to live in a new world with limited resources takes a lot of strength and courage, and Malorie had that in spades, even when she doubted herself.

I also really liked the relationships that developed with Malorie and the others in the house, especially Tom. This group of strangers banded together, shared resources, and brainstormed ways to create a better life for themselves, and I really liked that about them. It would be a really easy time to have a “fend for yourself” mentality, but the way this group took care of each other was endearing.

The one thing I didn’t love about the book was the end. I was okay with how the book actually ended, but I felt like I was left with a LOT of unanswered questions. There were no answers about the creatures, updates about the world now that it’s 5 years later and Malorie has had no way to receive updates, and there was one character who never got their story wrapped up (I won’t say who so that I don’t spoil it for anyone). I found myself turning the page expecting an epilogue or another chapter with some explanations and realized I was at the end of the book instead.

Aside from the ending, I still liked the book and rated it 4 stars. If you’re a fan of horror, dystopian, or just creepy books that have an ending with loose ends, this is the book for you! I know there are a lot of people who like open endings so they can use their imagination. I’m just not one of them.

8 thoughts on “Bird Box by Josh Malerman

  1. Excellent review of one of my favorite reads last year! Although, I admit the ending worked out quite well for me after I thought about it. I can certainly see how it might not for all. It is so hit or miss with open endings. You have to be so careful! Happy to see you enjoyed this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review!! I read this one a while back and I really like it, so creepy feeling. It’s funny I didn’t really have an issue with then ending when I read it and usually I don’t like a bunch of unanswered questions. But that I read your review I think it bothers me a bit more, now I’m wondering more. Oh well still a great read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

