She’s Not There by P.J. Parrish

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 4.11.44 PM

Amelia wakes up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. She doesn’t even know her name. She eventually remembers her name, and the hospital staff are able to look her up and contact her husband. Amelia doesn’t remember being married, but at first sight of her husband she’s unexplainably scared, and flees from the hospital.

She’s Not There follows Amelia as she tries to remember her past, including what put her in the hospital and why she’s so scared of her husband. As pieces slowly come back, she uncovers secrets that could put her life in danger.

I really liked the premise of this book, however I found myself a little frustrated while reading it. I think I’m starting to realize that amnesia/memory loss books aren’t my favorite. I often find myself getting annoyed because there are so any unanswered questions until the last 10% or so of the book. Being so much in the dark is too frustrating for me. I imagine we’re supposed to be feeling what the main character is feeling – the sense of loss, confusion, and uncertianty of who to trust, but I just can’t get myself to enjoy them the way I should be.

She’s Not There was told through three perspectives – through Amelia’s as she tries to uncover her memories, through her husband Alex, and through Clay, a private investigator hired by Alex in an attempt to find Amelia after she runs off.

The thing I did like about the book was how easy it felt to read. I read it in a day because I wanted to know what happened to Amelia that put her in the hospital, and the book made it engaging enough to be able to read in one sitting without getting bored.

That said, I felt like there were a lot of things that I felt like were too convenient that moved the plot along. The people she met, the things she remembered and when…I constantly was feeling like I had to suspend disbelief in order to move forward with the story. Additionally, I found many of the characters unlikeable, which made me want to skim through parts of the book. Amelia was likable enough, regardless of her irrational choices and coincidental discoveries.

Overall, if you are a fan of cat and mouse type stories or stories that involve memory loss and amnesia, this may be the book for you. It wasn’t a huge win for me, but was engaging enough to get 3.5 stars from me, rounded down to 3 stars on Goodreads because of the issues I had with the book.

**Do you like reading books about amnesia, or are you like me and aren’t a huge fan of that trope?**

2 thoughts on “She’s Not There by P.J. Parrish

Leave a Reply

