A Suitable Lie by Michael J. Malone

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 4.27.35 PM

Four years after his wife died, leaving him a single parent to their son Pat, Andy is thrilled when he meets Anna – the first woman he’s dated or had feelings for since losing his wife. Anna gets along great with his son, and they marry shortly after meeting. Andy couldn’t be happier.

Things take a turn for the worst on their wedding night and Andy ends up in the hospital. Thinking his injury was an accident, he thinks nothing of it…until he gets home and something similar happens again. It’s not long before he starts to wonder who he really married and are he and his son safe from her?

This is a hard review to write without totally spoiling things, but I do want to be clear that there is a lot of abuse, both physical and verbal, that occurs in this book, because I know that can be triggering for some people. While the abuse doesn’t occur in the traditional “husband beats wife” scenario, there is definitely spousal abuse that happens, to the point where it was hard for me to read (and I don’t have any history with physical abuse that would be triggering). If this is a trigger for you, do not read this book.

That all said, I really enjoyed A Suitable Lie. Regardless of how hard it was for me to read, it reminded me a little bit of Behind Closed Doors – just in the reverse. Seeing how hard it can be to leave an abusive marriage and how it affects children when you stay was something that I felt like was portrayed realistically. I really liked Andy as a protagonist, and I felt so awful for him throughout the entire book, even when I wanted to shake him because of the stupid choices he was making.

I hated his wife Anna and wanted nothing more than to see her lose by the end of the book. I won’t spoil anything for anyone, so I won’t talk about the ending, but I will say that I was super hooked throughout the entire book and read it in two sittings.

I’d definitely recommend this one for fans of the domestic/psychological thriller genres, as long as you can handle reading books that contain physical abuse. Overall, I really enjoyed this one and it was a 4 star read for me!

4 thoughts on “A Suitable Lie by Michael J. Malone

Leave a Reply

