Method 15/33 by Shannon Kirk

Capture

Pregnant 16 year old Lisa is kidnapped and taken to a house where she’s kept hostage, with the intention of selling her baby to a paying couple, and then killing Lisa. Lisa knows she’s not the first girl to be taken to this house, and she won’t be the last if she can’t escape and stop her captor. Little does her captor know, Lisa is incredibly calculated an unemotional. She spends her time in captivity coming up with a plan to kill him, and playing the part of scared teenager in the meantime.

While Lisa is being held captive, Special Agent Roger Lui and his partner Lola are working on a case where another pregnant teen has been reported missing. This builds up to the point where Agent Lui and Lisa finally cross paths, and the outcome is explosive.

While I enjoyed the fact that the book was short, I found that some parts of the book felt repetitive to me. There were parts I ended up skimming because I wasn’t invested in the small details of day to day life for any of the characters. The other thing I struggled with was the fact that I couldn’t connect to any of the characters. I was rooting for Lisa, but at the same time felt weird about rooting for her because she is such a flawed individual, with a small capacity for emotion. She was cold and calculating, which was necessary for her to survive and save her unborn son, but she wasn’t anyone I’d want to cross paths with, and in another book could have been the killer herself. She showed no remorse, guilt, or moral hangups about the actions she took, and I’m not sure how I feel about that.

Overall, the book was a quick read, and was interesting for the most part. If you enjoy books with deeply flawed protagonists that you feel slightly perturbed rooting for, then this may be a great choice for you! This was a 3 star read for me. A huge thank you to Netgalley, Shannon Kirk, and Oceanview Publishing for a copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Method 15/33 by Shannon Kirk

Leave a Reply

