I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 9.05.39 PM

During her daily commute to work, Zoe happens to be reading her local paper and sees a picture of herself in the personal ads section. Confused and a little freaked out by it, she brings it home to show her family, and they convince her it’s not her, and just someone who looks like her. Zoe tries to forget about the picture, until she sees a picture of another woman in the paper the next day and then a few days later that same woman is murdered. On edge, Zoe is convinced she’s being followed. I See You is a fast paced psychological thriller that alternates point of views between a policewoman named Kelly who has taken on the case and Zoe, as she asks herself why her picture was in the paper, and is she in danger?

Ohhh my GOD you guys, I See You is the best book I’ve read so far in 2017! I loved it so much! As you likely know, I’m a huge fan for books where the main character is being stalked, and this was no exception. There were some small parts where we see the stalker’s thoughts, and it’s SO creepy, but so perfectly done. Part of what I loved most about this book is how much truth there was to how easy it would be to stalk certain people. The book talks about how Zoe (as well as other characters) take the same route to work each day, sit in the same train car, etc. All I could think about was how accurate this was for me. I commute to work and definitely take the same train, get in the same train car, get off at the same place, get on the same bus…etc. It creeped me out to think about how easily someone could track me if they wanted to.

I loved Zoe as our protagonist, and really felt for her as she struggled to decide how much she should and shouldn’t tell her children and long term boyfriend about what’s been going on. Partly, she doesn’t want them to think she’s overreacting, and partly she doesn’t want to worry them.

I also really liked Kelly and her partner Nick. While the story primarily focused on Zoe and the ongoing case, we learned about Kelly’s personal life and history, and I would love to see her and Nick show up in future books. I could also see there being a romantic involvement between Kelly and Nick! I loved them together.

As the case unfolds, I was constantly questioning who was behind it all, and why? I won’t give anything away, but the end of the book was phenomenal! I was completely caught off guard, and then the last few pages had me literally yelling out loud because I was so surprised (in the best possible way!) and I was DYING to talk to someone about the book! I immediately messaged Sam from Clues and Reviews, who had already read the book, to freak out about it all, as well as texted my best friend telling her she needed to read the book ASAP!

I have seen other reviewers mention that they felt like the book got a little repetitive in the middle, but personally I didn’t have the same experience. I honestly loved every page of the book, and read it in two sittings because I was so gripped. This one felt like it was written just for me, and I can’t rave about it enough!

I highly recommend this one for all fans of the thriller genre! I cannot wait to hear what everyone thinks about this one! This was the first book I’ve read by Clare Mackintosh, and I’ve had I Let You Go by her on my TBR for a while, so I definitely need to bump that one up and read it sooner than originally planned! A huge thank you to Netgalley, Clare Mackintosh, and Berkley Publishing Group for a copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review. I See You is out now, and I suggest you run out and pick it up ASAP!

 

8 thoughts on “I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Leave a Reply

