April 2017 Wrap Up!

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 1.12.13 PM

I seriously don’t understand how we are already in MAY. It doesn’t seem possible because I swear we just celebrated the new year like, 5 minutes ago. Despite my lack of ability to accept how quickly the year is passing, here we are, ready for my April Wrap Up! In April I read 19 books, and below I’ll share everything I read and let you know which ones were my favorites! All of the book titles link back to Goodreads so that you can look them up quickly!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-32-24-pm

Below are all of the books I rated as 5 stars!

  • #1. The Girl From Yesterday by Kathryn Miller Haines. This is one I had as an ARC from Netgalley and I really liked this thriller!
  • #2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.  This is one I’d heard a TON about so I was a little worried that it wouldn’t live up to the hype, so it was on my backlist for a while. I finally decided to pick it up and totally loved it! It’s written through a series of IMs, emails, interviews, etc. and I love books told in that format.
  • #3. The Circle by Dave Eggers. This one has some mixed reviews, but I loved it so much! I can’t wait to see the movie!
  • #4. I See You by Clare Mackintosh. This actually might be my favorite read of 2017 so far! I am so obsessed with it, and can’t wait to pick up I Let You Go by the same author. I had this one on Netgalley and am mad at myself for not reading it earlier!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-36-27-pm

Aside from Illuminae, I read a few other books that were on my backlist. I originally set my “Beat the Backlist” goal to be 40 books for the year, and I’ve read 33 so far, so I’ll likely end up reading way more than 40, which is great!

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-20-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-38-39-pm

And here is what I’m currently reading!

Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 12.54.42 PMMoving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

 

The Breakdown by B.A. Paris – another ARC from Netgalley that I’m buddy reading with Sam from Clues and Reviews! This one comes out July 8, 2017.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 12.55.31 PMIf you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-1-37-38-pm

**How did you do on your April reading goals? Have you read any of the books I read last month? Let me know down in the comments!** 

5 thoughts on “April 2017 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

