Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back #1) by A.V. Geiger

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 1.39.10 PM

Teen celebrity Eric Thorn is constantly on edge after another celebrity was murdered by a crazed fan. He’s worried the same thing will happen to him, and he feels forced by his producers, manager, and record label into being a teen heartthrob who constantly takes his shirt off. All he wants is to live a normal life.

After a terrifying experience a few months earlier, Tessa Hart has developed severe agoraphobia and won’t leave her house. She spends the majority of her time in her room,  obsessing over Eric Thorn. After she writes a fan fiction story about Eric that goes viral, Tessa is now “internet famous” with Eric’s fan base.

When Eric decides to create a fake twitter account under the name of Taylor to troll his fans in hopes that they’ll realize he isn’t that great and leave him alone, he ends up messaging Tessa and what starts as a harassing message to her ends in a friendship…until feelings start to develop. When Tessa and “Taylor” agree to finally meet, Eric can’t wait to reveal to Tessa who he really is. Unfortunately, things don’t go as planned, and what should have been an exciting meeting ends up being more dangerous than either of them could have predicted…

Told partly through a series of tweets and police interviews, Follow Me Back is a young adult thriller that will leave you questioning everything by the end.

I have to say, I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would when I first started reading it. In the first third or so of the book, I found Eric incredibly whiny and ungrateful, and it made the chapters in his point of view super hard to read. His thought process seemed to weird to me…creating a fake twitter profile to talk badly about himself? I can’t imagine any celebrity doing that in real life, but who knows. While I understand he was concerned for his safety after what happened to a different celebrity, it seemed like he took his reactions to the extreme, and that made him unlikeable…at first.

After I got over the initial disbelief of the fake twitter account thing and kept reading, I grew to like Eric as his relationship with Tessa deepened and we got to see a better side of him. He was able to open up to Tessa in a way he doesn’t open up to anyone else, and she brought out the best in him, so instead of constantly whining or complaining about his life, we found him smiling when talking to Tessa, and I liked that.

For the most part, I liked Tessa, but found some of her reactions a little extreme too. The entire time she was talking to “Taylor” she assumed she was talking to a girl, without ever asking or clarifying, and when she found out Taylor was actually a man, she freaked out because she felt misled. Nothing in their message exchanges made an effort to hide or trick her into thinking Taylor was a girl, so her reaction bothered me. Eventually she got over it, but I felt like that was an overreaction on her part.

The book really picked up at the end, and some of the pieces finally came together about what happened in Tessa’s past, and the last page left me totally shocked. The book did leave off on a cliffhanger, and the sequel isn’t slated to come out until sometime in 2018, and I can’t wait! If the sequel had already been out, I would have started reading it immediately. I have so many unanswered questions, and I imagine they’ll get answered in book two.

Overall, if you like YA and you like light thrillers, this may be a good choice for you. It’s fast paced, and definitely reads like a YA book. This was a 4 star read for me. Thank you to Netgalley, A.V. Geiger, and Sourcebooks Fire for an advanced copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review. Follow Me Back comes out June 6, 2017, so be sure to mark your calendars!

4 thoughts on “Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back #1) by A.V. Geiger

  1. Hey, did you review “Geek Love?” Someone else recommended it to me recently, and it’s excellent! It sounded familiar and I thought perhaps I first saw it mentioned in your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

