The Breakdown by B.A. Paris

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 12.55.31 PM

On her way home from a night out, Cass decides to take a shortcut home down a dark wooded road, even after her husband warned her to avoid that route due to the severe storm that was hitting them. While she’s driving, Cass sees a car stopped on the side of the road, and pulls over to see if the driver needs help. Reluctant to get out of the car in the middle of the storm, Cass waits to see if the driver will alert her that they need help. When no such sign comes, she continues her drive home.

The next morning, she hears that a woman was murdered on the same road she took home…it was the woman in the car she saw. Partly wracked with guilt that she didn’t get out of her car, and partly terrified that the killer is still on the loose, Cass winds up on a downward spiral and as she seems to be forgetting more and more details of her life, she questions whether she can even trust herself, or if she’s starting to suffer from dementia the same way her mother did.

Regardless of whether or not she’s forgetting things, she knows she’s been getting daily phone calls each day where the caller says nothing, and she can’t shake the feeling that she’s being watched…

After totally obsessing over Paris’ first novel, Behind Closed Doors, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on The Breakdown! While I did enjoy the book, I didn’t love it the way I loved Behind Closed Doors.

I mostly liked Cass as our narrator – Alzheimers runs in my family, so I can imagine the panic and frustration she must feel when she realizes she’s forgotten a conversation or something she’s done. That said, there were definitely times where I wanted to shake her because she was acting so irrationally! She refused to tell anyone that she saw the car on the road in fear that it would make her look guilty, and instead completely obsesses over it.

There were some points of the book that I felt like were repetitive and could have been moved along more quickly – it wasn’t until around 80% into the book where answers started coming and action started happening – the rest of the story was build up, but there wasn’t a lot changing with it, which is where I started to get antsy for the story to move forward.

Despite the fact that some of the book felt repetitive to me, I had a hard time putting it down. I was sucked in and wanted to get answers and find out what happened! I also really liked the end of the book – I didn’t fully guess the outcome until it was smacking me in the face, which was nice.

Compared to Behind Closed Doors, The Breakdown felt like more of a slow building suspense story rather than the super tense thriller that Behind Closed Doors was. While I didn’t love this one as much as Behind Closed Doors, it was a 3.5 star read for me, rounded up to 4 stars on Goodreads because of the fact that I didn’t want to stop reading it! I’m a huge fan of B.A. Paris and look forward to future thrillers from her! Thank you to Netgalley, B.A. Paris, and St. Martin’s Press for an advanced copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review. The Breakdown comes out on July 18, 2017.

6 thoughts on “The Breakdown by B.A. Paris

  1. I really enjoyed this and think I’m the opposite of most people in I enjoyed it more than Behind Closed Doors, possibly because of things being revealed slowly,, but also I did feel it was stronger on the writing side. Still loved Behind Closed Doors.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

