Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Recommended to my Mom

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and the theme this week is an open freebie related to Mother’s Day! I decided to feature 10 of the books I’ve recommended to my own mom!

In general, my mom reads a few different genres, but likes books that are upbeat, positive, and don’t have a ton of sexual content. Below are 10 books I’ve suggested she read!

#1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My mom loved Harry Potter (I do too), and The Night Circus is one of my favorite books. It’s beautifully written, and involves a magical circus!

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 3.40.18 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#2. After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid

This is a chick-lit book that focuses on one couples marital struggles and what they do to overcome them. I really loved this book and recommended it to pretty much anyone who is in or has ever been in a long term relationship.

screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-6-46-11-pm

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#3. Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Similar to The Night Circus, Caraval is colorfully written, and has an element of mystery and magic to it that I think my mom will enjoy.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 3.42.36 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#4. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

My mom does like some mystery books, but only if they aren’t super graphic. Many of the thrillers I read focus a lot on the details of murder, assault, or rape, and those would be too much for her. The Woman in Cabin 10 has the aspects of mystery and suspense without focusing on the graphic details.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.58.36 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#5. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

Another light fantasy book about a girl who does magic using paper. There’s magic, romance, and action, but it’s a light, easy read. What’s not to love?

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.57.13 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#6. Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

Okay, to be honest, I haven’t read this one yet, but Sophie Kinsella is the perfect author for fans of chick lit, and I’ve read many of her other books and loved them all! I read the description of this one and thought it sounded perfect for both of us!

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.55.20 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#7. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies is a mystery/suspense book that focuses on a group of women, their friendships, and their families, all while a murder investigation is taking place. I think my mom will like the combination of chick lit elements as well as the mystery elements, and I think this is a great choice for her!

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.53.42 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#8. The Royal We by Heather Cocks

This is another one I haven’t read yet that’s been on my list for a while, but it’s a romance book about a girl who meets a prince and falls in love with him. The story follows Rebecca as she learns how to fit into this new life dating a royal.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.45.22 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#9. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

The light YA book is the perfect summer read! It’s wholesome, it’s fun, and it’s family centered, and I think my mom will love it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.48.06 PM

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

#10. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Since my mom liked Harry Potter, I think she may like the A Darker Shade of Magic series, too. I know I did! This series is about a magician who has the ability to travel through parallel universes and ends up on adventure to save the worlds as well as his own life.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 3.51.23 PM

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Recommended to my Mom

  1. I soooo want to read Night Circus. Eeep. And that’s awesome that you can rec books to your mum! I never do for mine.😂 She reads like historical fiction romances and nooooope, that is so out of my genre that I just got nothing. However she has read a few books I’ve written, but I’m not so much recommending them as having her pry them out of my cold claws.😂😂 STILL. That’s awesome you and your mum can share some favourites!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

