The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die by April Henry

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 1.38.06 PM

After waking up in a cabin with no memory of how she got there, Cady starts to panic. Soon after regaining consciousness, she hears her captors talking hears one of them tell the other to take her out back and “finish her off”. After managing to escape, she has no idea where to go…she has no money, doesn’t remember her name, and doesn’t know what happened to her.

In her run from these men, she meets Ty, who ends up accompanying her on her journey to get to safety. What Cady does know is that she’s still in danger, she just doesn’t know why.

I’ve had a few less than stellar reads lately, and I was hoping this quick thriller would be just the thing to break my drought. Unfortunately, it didn’t do it for me. It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, and felt more like an action book than a thriller. The end also took a turn I wasn’t expecting – very similar to The Outliers, which was another book I didn’t like.

What I did like was Cady and her friendship with Ty. I did find it a little unrealistic that they bonded so quickly and that Ty innately trusted Cady when she didn’t even know who she was or what happened to her, but they were good together and relied on each other, which while not always believable, was a nice add to the story, especially considering most of the characters weren’t super developed and were often flat.

Overall, I don’t have a ton to say about the book, which is probably fitting considering it was only ~200 pages long. It was a very quick read, and if you like action books/movies with a touch of biological warfare, this will be the perfect choice for you. Unfortunately, I was looking for something that was more of a thriller, and this wasn’t a winner for me.

Leave a Reply

