All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 2.46.09 PM

Now that I’m home from vacation it’s time to catch up on my blog posts! First up is All the Missing Girls, which had been sitting on my shelf for about a year until my best friend and I decided to read it together!

Ten years ago, Nicolette’s best friend Corinne disappeared in the woods near their small hometown, and was never heard from again. No body was found, but it’s long since been assumed that she is dead. Nicolette has since moved away, got engaged, and has rebuilt herself a new life, and tries to ignore her past. When she is called home by her father, who claims to know something about Corinne, she immediately heads home. The problem is…her father is in a nursing home and his memory is fleeting and can’t always be trusted.

Shortly after arriving home, another girl goes missing in a very similar way as Nic’s friend. As the police start to question Nic and her family, she realizes she needs to do her own investigating to figure out what happened.

In a unique story told backward, All the Missing Girls is a thriller full of twists where everyone has a motive. Who can be trusted, and what happened to the missing girls? You’ll have to read to find out!

When All the Missing Girls first came out last year, I was so excited to read it! I read a lot of thrillers, so the concept of this one being told backward really intrigued me. For some reason, it took me until just now to get to it, but I’m so glad I finally picked it up!

It did take me a little while to get engaged with the book. For some reason, the early chapters felt really slow, but about a third of the way in, the book really picked up for me, and I was hooked.

Each of the characters in All the Missing Girls was flawed and had something to hide. There were pieces of Corinne’s story that each character kept hidden from the police during the investigations, each of which could have changed the way the investigation played out. As we started to gain more and more information, I was constantly trying to guess what really happened to her and who was involved! I will say that I didn’t correctly guess what happened until it was right in front of my face, which was awesome!

What does get a little tricky is remembering how certain things tie together with the story being told in reverse. In one chapter you’ll read something about a conversation that was had days earlier, and then in a few chapters you’ll actually read the conversation that took place, so there were times I had to think back and remember how those things played into the larger story.

Overall, I really enjoyed All the Missing Girls, and rated it 4 stars. I’m excited to pick up The Perfect Stranger by the same author! If you’re a fan of the psychological suspense genre and are looking for something different, this will be a great choice for you!

SaveSave

6 thoughts on “All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

  1. I absolutely LOVED how this book was written, it has always been one of my favorites when I think about good writing! So unique, and I loved the story. I have The Perfect Stranger on my Kindle but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, I’ll watch out for your review on it :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

