Confession time: book series I liked…but never finished

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 3.55.22 PM

Before I get started, let me just say that just under two weeks ago, I spent more than an hour writing this post. I was about to go on vacation, so I wrote the post and set it to publish while I was gone, which it did…however I just realized that it posed a completely blank blog post! WHYYYYY?! I’m so sorry that I just realized that the previous post was blank THE ENTIRE TIME, but I’m going to attempt to re-write the post (ahh) for you today!

That all aside, I am notoriously bad at finishing series of books, even when I like the first books! I attribute it to three things. First, I sometimes worry that the final book in a series will be a letdown, as has happened to me so many times! Second, I tend to get distracted with other books, so I’ll move to something else with the intention of going back to the series, and then I just never do. Third, I read a series that isn’t finished, and by the time the next book in the series has been published, I forgot a lot of what happened in the first books and need to re-read them before I can continue the series, and it just never happens. I swear I have great intentions of finishing all of the series listed below, but we’ll see what happens!

The Magicians trilogy by Lev Grossman

I’ve read the first two books in the series, and have yet to read book three. After I read the first book, I let more than a year go by before I read the second one, so I’m hoping to read the final book before another year goes by! I’ve heard the third book has the most character growth, so I’m looking forward to that. Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken

So far I’ve only read the first book in the series, and I really liked it! After I read the first book, I jumped into reading some other things and just never went back to the series. I need to finish it, because I rated the first book 5 stars!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

Firebird trilogy by Claudia Gray

I read the first two books in this trilogy and was really enjoying it, but I was worried about how the third book would end so I’ve just been procrastinating reading the last one! Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

The Program series by Suzanne Young

I loved the premise of the first book and was so excited to read the second one! I bought it…and then it’s been sitting on my shelf since I bought it 5 months ago. Whoops. I do really want to finish this series soon, especially since I’ve heard a lot of good things about it!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater

This one is so embarrassing to have not finished, because my lovely friend Cait at Paper Fury is forever recommending this! I read the first book, but I listened to it as an audio book, and to be honest, I want to re-read it but in paper format before I continue the series because I sometimes miss details when I listen to audio books, especially when I’m listening to them at work (which was the case with this one).

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

This is the one that I feel like is most likely to get me shunned from the book community, because everyone is obsessed with these books! I read the first one, and I liked it, however I didn’t love it the way everyone else did, so I wasn’t in a huge hurry to read the second one. That said, I have heard that some of the things I wanted to see in the first book do come up in the second book, so I might like that one better.

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I have no idea why I didn’t finish this series, to be honest. I really liked the first book, but I think the fact that the series isn’t finished yet just made me procrastinate reading the rest of them. I think I might read the rest over the summer though, so I can be in the loop with everyone else!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir

This is another one that I liked, but didn’t love as much as the rest of the book community seems to. I do want to read the rest, especially since the first book left me with so many unanswered questions!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

Firstlife series by Gena Showalter

I LOVED the first book, and thought the concept was so cool (plus, major cover love!) and I even pre-ordered the second book! It arrived promptly on my doorstep, where it’s since sat on my shelf unread. WHY do I do this to myself?! I really have no idea. I really do want to read the sequel to this one soon!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab

This one is so horrible of me to have not read yet, but I don’t want it to end!! I was so worried that the last book wouldn’t be as good as the first two, so I put off reading it. Now that it’s been a few weeks since release day, I’ve heard entirely good things from the bloggers I follow who have read it, so I think I just need to bite the bullet and get to it. BUT I’M SCARED. Help me!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

I read the first two books in this series and loved them, so I preemptively bought the rest of the series. THEN I watched the movie that was based on the first book…and it was terrible. I know that shouldn’t stop me from finishing the series, because it’s not the book’s fault that the movie sucked. I’ll finish it one day! That day just might be years from now, because apparently that’s how I live my life!

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

The Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson

I liked the first book well enough, and was intrigued by the magic system it entailed, however I have to be in the right mood for fantasy books, and I just haven’t been in the mood lately, so I’ve let the rest of the series fall by the wayside.

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

**So there you go! 12 series that I haven’t finished yet. I could seriously write a whole second post with 12 more series that I never finished, especially since I didn’t even include thrillers in this list! I’m so so so sorry if you tried to read this post last time and saw that it was blank! I had no idea until now! Ahh! Do you generally finish series, or are you like me and procrastinate them and leave them unfinished for ridiculous amounts of time??**

21 thoughts on “Confession time: book series I liked…but never finished

  1. I have such a bad habit of not finishing series that I was really enjoying. Usually, it’s because the series hasn’t been finished yet and, like you, I end up wanting to reread the series or at least the most recent book before the next releases and then it just never happens. The Firebird trilogy and The Program series are two on your list that I really want to finish but haven’t yet. Actually, the Shades of Magic trilogy is another, although I finally borrowed ACOL from the library and I’m hoping to read it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

