Twisted by Andrew E. Kaufman

23614038

Christopher is a psychiatrist working at a psychiatric hospital with the most deranged serial killers you could imagine. When a new patient arrives at the hospital, Christopher is asked to make a diagnosis on whether he thinks the patient is lying about not remembering the crimes he committed, or whether he has a genuine psychiatric condition that prevents him from remembering them. When he initially meets the patient, the patient looks familiar, but he can pinpoint why. The more time he spends with the patient, the more he is put on edge. His patient, Donny, seems to know more about him than he should, but Christopher doesn’t know why.

As odd things start happening around him, Christopher questions whether he himself is going insane the same way his schizophrenic father did…is he losing his mind, or is that just what Donny wants him to think? In order to catch a serial killer, Christopher may end up losing his grip on reality.

Twisted is by far the most trippy book I’ve ever read. I felt like was going crazy when I was reading it. I can tell the author put a lot of time and effort into his research into schizophrenia, because throughout the book, I couldn’t grasp on to anything solid. My thoughts were all over the place, and I think it was this amazing experience where the book made me feel as confused and panicked as Christopher must have felt, and I’ve never felt that way reading a book before.

I did guess the twist from very early on, but it was executed flawlessly, and I loved the ride getting there, and really enjoyed seeing how all of the pieces of the puzzle fit together in the end. Donny was such a creepy character, that I felt tense reading parts of the book with him in it. I imagine working with real life serial killers would feel the same way.

Overall, this book was dark, twisty, and will make you question everything as you’re reading it. You’ll be confused and lost, and that’s exactly what Andrew E. Kaufman wants you to feel.  Fans of books or movies like Inception, The Nightwalker, or Shutter Island will eat this book up! This was the first book I read by Kaufman, but it will not be my last. This was a smart, taught thriller, and I can’t wait to read more by this author! If you’re ready for a wild ride of a psychological thriller, be sure to pick this one up!

Leave a Reply

