Each Little Lie by Tom Bale

35224842

On her way to work Jen sees her neighbor drop his keys outside of his house. She picks them up, and attempts to flag him down, but he drives away before she’s able to get to him. In an attempt to be helpful, she uses the keys to enter his house, find some paper, and leave a note that says to call her to pick them up.

When she’s later called into the police station and is accused of entering the house and completely trashing some valuable artwork, she is shocked. In an attempt to clear her name before she’s arrested, she starts to do her own investigation and realizes she’d better work fast before she puts herself in more danger.

This was not the first book I’ve read by Tom Bale, and it won’t be my last, however this was not my favorite work by him. I really had a hard time connecting with Jen as a character, which is likely because she made so many choices that I had a hard time believing. Why would you enter someone else’s house while they aren’t there, just to leave a note?! That seems crazy to me! Why not come back later, or go to your OWN home to get paper to leave the note? There were so many other options that I feel like a logical person would have chosen before resorting to entering someone else’s house without permission.

Along the same lines, I struggled to suspend my disbelief throughout much of the story. As more and more is uncovered about what’s really happening, I found myself thinking that it seemed too far fetched and unlikely, not only that the events would happen in the first place, but that each piece of the puzzle would line up exactly right in order to make it possible. I don’t want to give anything away, so I’m hoping that vague statement still makes sense!

The last issue I had was the number of characters. There seemed to be a rotating door of characters, and I had a hard time keeping them all straight at times and remembering how they were each connected to Jen.

Overall, this one wasn’t a winner for me, but it won’t turn me off to Tom Bale’s future works. Thank you to Netgalley, Tom Bale, and Bookouture for a copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

Leave a Reply

